We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Newton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2008

This Marriott is undergoing renovation which is supposed to be completed by March. Do be sure to request one of the renovated rooms. The room (which had been renovated) was very clean, comfortable, quiet, and well-equipped. As far as Marriotts go, It really could not have been better, except that the room was on the small side.
There was a large group of college students also staying at the hotel that evening and we were concerned there might be quite a bit of noise. But thankfully we were on a floor away from the students and it was very, very quiet.
The Front Desk staff were extremely courteous and efficient. There is a well-stocked gift shop and Starbucks in the lobby, though on the pricey-side as one expects in hotels. Had dinner at the restaurant, which was acceptable but quite over-priced. Nice view overlooking the river from the room and the restaurant. Although this was a brief stay -- just one night - I would recommend this Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    316
    189
    68
    35
See reviews for
226
88
51
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

With all rooms in Cambridge booked in lieu of Red Sox MLB World Series, I settled for the closest to my business.

Not having strayed from a Kimpton chain spot for over 8 years I wasn't quite sure what I'd find. Am pleasantly surprised to report, the hotel is lovely.

The room is a bit tighter than I'd like, but for a business trip it was fine. It was clean, charming and well appointed - though I found it odd there was no honor bar. Being on the first floor was a nice treat - a door opening into the lush gardens facing the water. Lounge chair and sitting table were perfect for early morning coffee and late afternoon coffee.

The staff bent over backwards anticipating my every need. Very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The restaurant facing the river had great breakfast and lunch buffets. And room service was above par for what the place represents. Didn't manage to make time for the gym, which sounded excellent.

The one and only complaint I have is the bed. The three inch feather bed is a cheap workaround to the (lack of) quality of the mattress. Hence, I slept horribly.

So, while the rest of my experience was truly positive, I will be hard pressed to consider another booking here. My lack of rest contributed to less than stellar productivity, which is after all the reason I'm here in the first place.

  • Liked — Staff, restaurant
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SF415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August, 2007. The room was clean and the linens were great and so was the bathroom. It was a bit small as hotel rooms go. I was on the first floor in the back with an outside patio. I could only see a glimpse of the river and the canoes, etc. I did have to kill several bugs that I'm sure came in from the outside. The room did have a strange ordor that I couldn't quite figure out but I didn't spend too much time there to let it bother me. I was on an expense account but I would not pick that hotel if I were paying. The hallway outside my was musty smelling. The desk personnel were very nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank can we dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Our family was in for Parents Weekend at Boston College, which is just 10 minutes away. Our rate was $259 - pretty reasonable for a Marriott and coming from NY on a busy weekend. The rooms are definitely old, but very clean and the desk clerk said the hotel is revamping all the rooms later this year. BEST hotel fitness center I've ever seen - great equipment, each had it's on mini-tv. Pool area was very nice, too. Room was large enough for three of us; bathroom was small but clean and modern - more so than the rooms? Service was great, like most Marriotts. Restaurant was very busy for breakfast and dinner...definitely make reservations if you're there on a weekend. Free parking was a nice surprise.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Ny_NyNY_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I needed to stay in Waltham and all the hotels were booked, the closest was the Newton Marriott. The hotel rooms are very dated and my room had a musty smell. The doors to all the rooms on my floor are in serious need of refinishing, they looked like dorm room doors after all the posters had come off them, patchy, patched and missing finish. It just wasnt a Marriot that I have been used to as I travel every week on business.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NashuaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Don't be lured or fooled by the Marriott name at this hotel. I have spent 10-15 nights there over the past two years, and each stay has been progressively worse. The lobby (4th floor) is standard Marriott - clean, neat, functional - -very welcoming staff. The guest rooms reflect the age of the hotel - outdated and very worn. The hotel is built on a hill, so many rooms are at ground level or below. The lower rooms are terribly humid - everything is moist. Carpets are filthy. Repeated calls for maintenance haven't helped. Even if you are above ground level, watch out for a walk. Some rooms are a very, very long walk to reach.

Newly updated gym facilities with top-notch equipment. Decent indoor pool - all on the second floor.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — damp, dirty, worn rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank medicalalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
1.4 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#4 of 11 in Waltham
265 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Property: Boston Marriott Newton
Address: 2345 Commonwealth Ave, Newton, MA 02466-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Boston Marriott Newton, in beautiful Newton, MA. Our Newton, MA hotel's property includes 22 acres of idyllic and scenic riverfront land alongside the Charles River. Guests find our location ideal for exploring Newton and nearby Boston. We are situated close to historic Boston attractions, Boston College, Brandeis University, Bentley College, and Boston's high-tech beltway. Boston Marriott Newton is centrally located on the I-90, near Logan Airport. It is easy to get to our hotel and to get around, once here. We encourage you to visit us and enjoy one of our 430 luxurious hotel rooms - many of our Newton, MA hotel rooms offer gorgeous river views! Our hotel boasts more than 20,000 square feet of flexible event space, which makes us a perfect hotel for conferences and weddings. Come take advantage of our fabulous indoor pool, our expansive fitness center, and our on-site restaurant - Riverbend Bar & Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing