We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food , but take it to go .”
Review of Comella's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Comella's
Ranked #148 of 255 Restaurants in Newton
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food , but take it to go .”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had lunch in the restaurant , the food was delicious but the employees were talking so loud in the kitchen in the back that we could listen to the whole conversation, so unconfartable . But like I said , food was amazing so take it home with you :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia_br_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome sauce”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

After Pacini's, our old standby for southern Italian takeout, went out of business, we started getting takeout from Comellas. The marinara sauce is excellent - even better than the Bertuccis sauce. Eggplant is great, but chicken parm has only 1 slab of chicken, albeit delicious. We tried 2 kinds of the famous "messes" but not impressed. Prices are reasonable, but they don't give you bread. Also they got our orders wrong both times, even though it was no big deal. Last time, I ordered chicken parm with eggplant, and got eggplant with eggplant. Today I ordered eggplant with eggplant, and got eggplant with pasta.

Helpful?
Thank chinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We started going to Comella's when they were just one restaurant in nearby Wellesley. We were afraid that when they expanded that it would diminish their quality. It hasn't by any stretch of the imagination. They now have several restaurants in the area and their food is still excellent...Their best dishes are entitled "mess" which is a combination of a number of items. They are all excellent. Wa wonderful restaurant with great Italian food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
475 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good, quick Italian food.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

A small shop with maybe a half dozen tables. Sandwiches and pasta dishes are very good. Got the mess with meatballs and sausage, and it was delicious, with plenty of meat.

Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“$5 Pizza”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

How do you beat a large cheese pizza for $5? Pastas are fine as well.
Not all locations sell pizza. Enjoy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comella's also viewed

 

Been to Comella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing