We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive food, mediocre service”
Review of Comella's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Comella's
Ranked #149 of 255 Restaurants in Newton
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Unimpressive food, mediocre service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Visited the location in Concord, MA - food was unimpressive, service was marginal.

I would not go back and don't recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LEXINGTON
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to the restaurant in Natick. Very small typical counter service pizza shop. Food was very good! We all got different subs on baguette. All were good. The roll was excellent. All drinks are bottled/canned. The sandwiches were enough for 2. I would go again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMSwimnoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic italian messes!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Every time I travel to Boston to visit my sister and brother n law, we try to make it to Comella's. I have my meal already picked out, the delicious Caprese salad, Cousin Philly's Mess(shrimp,meatball and sausage) and half a loaf of Garlic Bread. Yummm , my mouth waters as I type!!! My sister likes the Carmella's Mess (shrimp and chicken) and as usual my healthy brother n law likes the Easy Ed's Mess (chicken and vegetables).
We never leave a drop of the fantastic sauce, that is what the bread is for to sop it all up! Not as expensive as the North End places but better value and just as delicious!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gerberdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap and easy take-out of delicious simple Italian.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I often pick-up on the way home to feed the family.
Cheap and delicious pizza and pasta options.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drivin_and_Cryin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The food is great, the pizza itself is good, you get a large for $5. It would be nice though to have a smaller pizza available. The other Italian dishes are amazing! A complaint- the meals are WAY too big. Cut the portions in half jeesh! Who eats that much in one meal? Well, of course you could share... but you don't always want to. One last thing... a lot of my friends have told me they (or a relative) has gotten sick from Comellla's meat.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieEllenKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comella's also viewed

 

Been to Comella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing