We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Asian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jean and Lee Kitchen

Jean and Lee Kitchen
Ranked #34 of 256 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
newton,ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have noted the opening of this restaurant with anticipation, and concern. The location has not been a good one for restaurants in the past several successions. I hope that is not the case for Jean and Lee, as the food was excellent.
I was having my weekly attack of "I need some spicy Asian food, well after the 3 PM luncheon menu cut off time. I was greeted warmly, even though it was 3:30.
The staff were warm and friendly. I ordered a la carte-the food was prepared to order and was so delicious-Taiwanese Sausage Fried Rice, which I had not had before, altho' I have purchased this sausage in Chinatown in former year-. It was a delicious combination-the sausage is sweet and gives a great flavor to the rice; Eggplant with Basil leaves-phenomenally good-I love Eggplant, anyway; and Chicken with Broccoli was also quite good. Next time I plan to order from the "authentic Taiwanese" section of the menu. I brought some home to my husband to share in the delicious tasting food. He enjoyed it also.
The food was very flavorful without being too salty. I have found that some Chinese restos are attempting to serve healthier food with less salt and fat content, but the usual delicious flavor of the Asian food is being lost, and sauces taste watery-not the case here.
I do hope this resto will be successful in this location, as the Upper Falls needs a good Asian restaurant.
N.B, Jean and Lee do not have a liquor license at the moment, but have applied for the transfer of the previous owner's license which they will hopefully have before long.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent new Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Looking for a new place for Chinese, try Jean and Lee Kitchen. The food was excellent with deep, rich flavors, not the standard Chinese. We had the Hot and Sour soup which was quite good, the only issue was it could have been a bit hotter (temp.). Then we had dumplings, thin shell with flavorful meat filling and the best part was the sauce. Our main dish was Shrimp and broccoli with ginger sauce. The shrimp was fresh; veggies were perfectly cooked, and the sauce again was outstanding. It's worth a visit to this new spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great new restaurant in the neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We've lived here for a few years and have been on the look out for good Chinese food; I think we've found it.

We ordered take out; the person we talked with on the phone was friendly and helpful and I found the same thing when we went in to pick-up the order.

But friendliness wouldn't mean much if the food wasn't good. That isn't the case here; the food is great. Everything is fresh and hand-made. The lo-mein had amazing flavors, with great thick noodles. The chive dumplings had a great vibrant taste and the dipping sauce popped.

My wife is a stickler for good Chinese food; the next night, I overheard her telling her friend about how great this place is; that is a very good sign.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadada541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beginners blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to a new restaurant in our area, but unfortunately this was a disappointment. We just did takeout, four dishes, and two were not what we ordered. Food was ok, but not memorable, especially with all the competition in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxandsambc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Level Contributor
218 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Finally, good Chinese in Newton Upper Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Delightful, friendly, inventive Taiwanese right next to the bike path. The noodle soup is the best. Combines the ambience of a local neighborhood place with the sophistication of Chinatown. Rumored to have great dim sum on weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean and Lee Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jean and Lee Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing