We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Tomatoes, consistently good”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sweet Tomatoes Pizza
Ranked #126 of 255 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: This place is temporarily closed.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Sweet Tomatoes, consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Love their thin crust pizza. I'd recommend reconfirming your call-in order before hanging up - they "forgot" my meat topping. However, they did offer me a salad to make up for it. Great customer service. Consistently good pizza!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill02465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
427 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Left with a Sour Taste!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The service here was slow and ho-hum. I ordered a Cesaer salad, meatball sandwich and a 14" pizza. I expected the meatball sandwich to come before the pizza since it was made from scratch but to my dismay after waiting 15 minutes both came at the same time.

The pizza was thin crust and had chunks of raw tomato on it which unfortuately were more sour than sweet. There was a little char which was nice but also areas of crust under cooked.

When I looked at the meatball sandwich I couldn't help but react by saying, "You are charging me $8 for two meatballs? You've got to be kidding". Well these two small balls were very spongy and I'm sure did not have a lot of meat in the mix. Dunkin Dounuts munchkins are bigger. You would be better off going across the street to Comella's and getting meatballs there for $1.50 which a bigger and tastier. What a ripoff! I took my salad to go because I could't take anymore disappointment.

The place is small and has three tables and some window counter seats. Most people must get ther orders to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Super pizza, worth extra cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

While visiting son and family in Newton, we ordered pizza from Sweet Tomato, collected them and brought them home. While not inexpensive- quite a bit more expensive that the national everywhere pizza establishments - they were excellent and well worth the price. Son and family had had them before and we got specialties everyone wanted – including a superb “white” pizza. So overall a good experience and would recommend that whoever from the region wants gourmet pizza, go here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“haven't eaten at this one, BUT...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

just had to say if it's anything like their shops on the Cape the pizza is AWESOME!! Love Sweet Tomatoes!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kdpezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A different kind of pizza place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fresh pizzas that taste great. Choice of lots of healyhy ingredients that are cooked to perfection try the fresh tomato with onions and olives or the greekmpizza with feta cheese. A good place to pick up and take home orake to a picnic

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tomu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing