We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice, 2nd time better than first”

Dunn Gaherin's Food & Spirits
Ranked #6 of 255 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Been twice, 2nd time better than first”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

With family in Newton I have eaten here twice; once about 6 months ago for a family dinner (evening) with 4 adults and 2 children and recently with a cousin (just the 2 of us) for lunch. Both times the service personnel were attentive and friendly. At the dinner I was asked, when the check was presented, how was everything? I responded that my fish was not good; not well cooked, quite raw and I did not eat it all. They were most apologetic, and, surprisingly to me, they removed the cost of the fish meal from the bill. The other family members were all pleased with their meals. At the lunch, we sat at the high tables near the bar and the service was again very god – place was noisy, however – but the food quite good. So… 2 experiences - one were the food was not as expected – but the response (not having to pay for it) was appreciated and the second experience were all was fine & good. I would eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    89
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Irish,Irish,Irish....the bar maids.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I love this place, the women behind the bar are Irish and friendly. This place is small and gets very busy but it is worth it. The food is very good. I have never had a bad meal here. Get there early or you will have to stand for awhile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johno1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cozy Pub with Decent food in Newton”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This used to be my alternative to the Biltmore, but I may make it my go-to after today's visit. Good food, cozy, quick seating. I also like the more authentic feel of the atmosphere, and more diverse menu.

Good lunch and pub pick in the Newton area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good food and drink. People are great , gets a little crowded and tight but worth the wait. Very reasonable prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and superior service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the place where everyone knows your name. The food is excellent and the people are terrific. Always one of the owners is on site. Go here often. Try the soups, salads, sandwiches, esp. the wraps. Also the eggplant fries are tops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massbayreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn Gaherin's Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Dunn Gaherin's Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing