We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chai latte” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Howell Coffee

George Howell Coffee
Ranked #3 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Newton
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best chai latte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I drive out of my way to pick up chai lattes at George Howell coffee. I don't drink coffee, but my husband is a coffee snob and he loves the beans I pick up here. The sitting area is also a fun place to catch up with friends or do a little work on the computer. They are serving less food now verses what they have served in the past (I think its breakfast only now). I miss that, but still drive here for chai often!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great coffee justified the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I had heard about George Howell's history in the coffee industry and drove over especially for coffee with my wife. Really nice space, wonderful coffee! A film crew came in as we were leaving to record a piece on the cafe. Will detour to visit again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“coffee connection returns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was fun to go back to the original creator of the coffee connections new venture. The CC was where I first developed my true love for coffee. This little coffee shop has great individually brewed and fresh grounded coffee. It was worth the drive to Newton.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

best coffee beans ever!
you won't regret spending fortune on this tiny coffee bag.
personally recommend Esperanza ,Colombia or Matalpa ,El Salvador for chemex brewing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank quidamboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Coffee, Good Food, Overpriced and Slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall, George Howell is a great coffee and tea place. They are actually a local purveyor and roaster based out in Acton. Their coffee shop in Newton offers a very good latte and cappuccino, as we'll as a good tea selection with loose-leaf teas that will delight even a true tea connoisseur. The food is also quite good, such as the sandwiches, but I feel they are a little overpriced (as is the coffee). Still good though. One problem is that they won't customize the sandwiches in any way; for example, they won't change out the kind of bread a sandwich comes on for another kind of bread they have. The reason they give is that the price of every sandwich is calculated based on the specific ingredient such as type of cheese and type of bread...Other places don't seem to have any trouble working out a pricing rubric that takes this into account AND can offer the customer wheat instead of sourdough. Service also tends to be on the slow side, especially mid-morning and mid-afternoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaCat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Howell Coffee also viewed

 

Been to George Howell Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing