We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in the suburbs”
Review of Farmstead Table

Farmstead Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmstead Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 255 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Across from the Newton Centre stop on the D line
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food in the suburbs”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a quaint little restaurant on Union St. in Newton Center. We had a reservation and were seated right a way. The staff was excellent. The service was just right. We didn't have to wait more than an appropriate time for our first course. I had the eggplant vegetable dish which was delicious. My husband had the rib eye steak which was also delicious. Portion sizes were great. It was really nice to be casually dressed, have a great dinner without having to go to downtown Boston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    62
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
631 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Good but they can do better”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ate lunch here twice in the span of two weeks. The atmosphere is extremely charming - very simple, farm-modernist-chic (did I just coin a new interior design term??). Both days, the soup of the day was tomato and both days, the fish of the day was swordfish. I asked about this, and in the week between my visits, they had other soups and other fish, I just happened to get the same both visits, which was disappointing as the tomato soup was excellent, but I wanted to try something else, and swordfish frankly leaves me cold, I'm so over it, it's so mid-90s to me. I was really hoping for cod or bass or salmon, boo, not to be. The food is very good but not all that SEASONED.......I'm wondering if the chef is going for a farm thing with it, like what the family on a farm would eat every night, midwestern in flavor profile, yes, ELEVATED for sure, but still homey, nothing exotic, nothing that really sticks out as packing a punch. (No salt on the sweet potato fries, really?? and, no salt or pepper on the table, the chef is that confident, so I had to ask for salt) The farmhouse cheddar cheese sandwich was excellent - arugula pesto, delish, and the spelt bread was wonderful. This I did think was quite special as far as an elevated grilled cheese sandwich goes. The service was meh. When I have to ask to have my water glass refilled, eh, that, I don't like in a place like this where I am paying $8 for a CUP of soup and an additional $2 to add tomato slices to my $14 grilled cheese sandwich DID YOU CATCH THAT, $14 for a grilled cheese with $2 extra for a few slices of tomato, now it's a $16 grilled cheese - ya, for those prices, I expect really good service. The service both days, two different servers, was perfunctory. The servers had a job to do, they kind of did it, with my assistance, but I am not sure they were thrilled about it. I expect more from a restaurant that clearly is aiming for a higher bar, a goal I believe it can make, but a few tweeks need to be made. One thing for sure, the farm-modernist-chic interior is darn cool!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh and interesting”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Farm to table. Interesting and flavorful combinations of beef fish and poultry dishes with wonderful vegetable sides. The veggies won. Thought the service was very friendly, but a bit slow. Dessert was a non event. Nice but small atmosphere. You definitely need a reservation. Don't go hungry, portions are small.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxandsambc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, relaxing - fresh food, some blandness”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was a pleasure spending a leisurely dinner here with a friend. The decor and atmosphere are clean and natural, and the service, very attentive and accommodating. The Burrata appetizer was excellent! The Fish of the Day (filet) I ordered tasted fresh but bland. My friend had the same dish with scallops and enjoyed it more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining at Farmstead Table”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After not being able to get reservations in the winter, we finally snagged a res last night. The atmosphere I'd cheerful and pleasant. The food was very good, but menu was similar to thers. I was expecting more highlighting of aim of the restaurant farm to table mission

We shared a very tasty beet salad and I had very nicely prepared scallops. My fiancé had the lamb burger which he liked but said cognac bistro's same offering bet this one,

Nice beer selection but short wine listen

I would go back for another pleasant evening, but frankly not sure why all the fuss was about.,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avivina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmstead Table also viewed

 

Been to Farmstead Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing