We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub menu”

O'Hara's Food & Spirits
Ranked #3 of 255 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
266 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good pub menu”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went here with about 15 co-workers last week for lunch and was impressed. The menu is large and it was hard to make a decision. Many of their sandwiches have girls names and they also have a decent looking pizza menu. They were out of turkey burgers when I tried to order it. They also have a second room away from the bar that is good for large groups. Decor consists of old Irish bar memorabilia and seemingly random portraits. The manager and host were attentive and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    104
    23
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Reliable pub food”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

O'Hara's provides reliable pub food, perfect for a work lunch or drinks after work. I'm a big fan of their hearty sandwiches, especially the Steamed O'Brien (trust me, try it). Good service, very accommodating of big groups. Pretty good beer selection, though not extensive. Fun vibe, full of locals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid Comfort Food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went on a Sunday night, shortly after expansion of their dining room. Waited five minutes to ask for a table but I couldn't find the host, so I reached out to a busboy, then 2 servers, all of whom smiled and stated they were not responsible for seating us. I guess I ticked off the manager because he placed at a table 3' from the door to the kitchen when the new dining room had 5 open tables. The food here is pure comfort and a decent value. Generally a friendly vibe, unless you tick off the host. Ooops :(

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makalu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always A Good Meal”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have been to Ohara's often and have never been disappointed with the meal. Generous portions, very low prices, friendly service and atmosphere makes it a fun place to visit. Newly enlarged, the wait time has lessened and eating area less crowded. The bar is always full and folks seems to be having a great time. You won't be sorry you've gone to O'Hara's or its sister pub, Paddys, in Newtonville, MA

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonBrahminNashua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love our O'Haras!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I first discovered my future favorite pub in 1987. I've been a regular ever since, and I've watched the business Mr O'hara flourish and grow, and now his sons carry on it's tradition of great service and good food! I eat or drink at O's at least 3 times a month or more. The food is great as is the friendly service, from Carl and John to all the staff.
I enjoy their hospitality regularly with everyone from family to coworkers. I highly recommend their pizza as strange as this may sound at a tradional Irish pub. The bar and restaurant are spotless, and the front facade is beautiful, with flowers hanging out front all summer and inviting lights trimming the building in the winter months. Be warned..they are packed for dinner between 5 and 9!! Despite the recent interior expansion!
If too crowded you can drive crosstown to their sister bar Paddy's! More about Paddy's next!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sulldoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Hara's Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to O'Hara's Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing