We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive, friendly and surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tartufo Italian Restaurant

Tartufo Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tartufo Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 256 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Conveniently located on the Green line, D line, Newton Center stop
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Attentive, friendly and surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

A friend and I stopped in for dinner for our first visit and we're warmly greeted. The menu was varied and there were a few appealing specials, one of which I had. It was delicious. Our server was attentive but not intrusive and we enjoyed our meal. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
262 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“beware handicapped access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Tried to go here. Lacked handicapped access for one party member. Couple steps in front were ok but the first floor was rented out to a party and the second floor, where regular goers were to be seated, isn't accessible except by stairs.

So we never got in the door.

We had not known we needed to note handicapped access in the reservation.

We may try again on our own.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poodledoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Tartufo is one of our favorite Italian restaurants. Reliably very good service and delicious food. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Good wine selection.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank customer27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
448 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Overpriced, sea bass with mashed potatos, $ 42, really ??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Tartufo used to be one of our favorite Italian restaurants.
My wife and I did not have a good experience last night. We ordered minestrone soup,
lamb sausages, duck and sea bass.
Lamb sausages and duck were just OK, service was only average. Minestrone soup was insipid.
The waiter did offer the specials, duck and sea bass, we went along and order them. She did not mention the price. I know it was our mistake not to ask.
Well, a bad surprise came with the check. The price for the seabass plate was $ 42.
It was quite simple, it came with mashed potatos and vegetables.
The waiter had the nerve to say that this plate would cost $ 52 in Boston. Not true.
We go to good restaurants all the time and we know when the price is a rip-off. Beware.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Azulado_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton,ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had eaten here many times in the past since food was always good ( also had my husbands surprise 65 th Bday here)
but then it seemed to go downhill for a few years ( abrupt,rude,service,our server "announced to table that my credit card was not working vs privately to me (which was not correct).
But recently we decided to give it another try and it was Fabulous!! We sat at the bar since it was a busy Sunday evening and the woman bartender was great and also was knowledgeable re: gluten free options. Many of the servers were new to us and very gracious.
So happy to have this neighborhood gem back on our list!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank impulse104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartufo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tartufo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing