We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Newton!”

Tartufo Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tartufo Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 256 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Conveniently located on the Green line, D line, Newton Center stop
ny
Level Contributor
203 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great choice in Newton!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My family of five chose this restaurant for an evening meal and thought it was great. We had Caesar salads, caprese salad, couple of risottos, a pasta meal with mushrooms, and a veal dish. We enjoyed it very much. Service was also great. Great choice for Newton. We called earlier in the day for reservations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    40
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
“"Love this place it is always wonderful dining here!!"”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We and another couple frequently dine at this lovely Newton restaurant. It is beautiful and relaxing and fun. The bartender Freddy is awesome as is the ultra friendly and accommodating owner, Anna Maria. Tartufo consistently serves up delicious made to order food. The dinner special a few weeks ago was veal osso buco. It was slow cooked falling off the bone goodness. Real classic comfort food. We had the lobster pasta special with a creamy pink sauce, not to light, or heavy just right. Sometimes we wait a while for our food to be prepared but we always enjoy the social aspect of dining and enjoying. We looking forward to many more years of Tartufo. The area has many restaurants, this is real people place, not a corporate chain. We love supporting a small local business. Try it and you will return to this hidden gem!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the burbs”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a great evening with great food. Went with work colleagues/friends. Ordered a terrific Tuscan wine, good wine list. Our waiter, Chris, told us the specials and whipped out his phone to show us pictures. Cool. Started with salads. Solid. But the main dishes were awesome. The pasta is homemade. I ordered a special with lobster, clams and mussels with pappardelle. Divine. Others had salmon or a seafood pasta. So happy I found this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian on the hill”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great cozy resturant to have a meal or date. Reservation needed for dinner, but worth it. Food prepared with a flair, portion are adequate, but a bit pricey.Senic view from the tables at the bar, great area to have dinner as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drbobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
432 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very good neighborhood place”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We live a little over a mile away and have been here a number of times. We find the food very good. It is Italian, but clearly not "red sauce." The osso buco special was very good, but not the best I have ever had. The pasta dishes were also very good. The dining room is small and cozy, but also noisy. Service is excellent. There are a number of restaurants in Newton Centre. I would consider Tartufo one of the better ones.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartufo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tartufo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing