We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really gone downhill...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tartufo Italian Restaurant

Tartufo Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tartufo Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 257 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Conveniently located on the Green line, D line, Newton Center stop
Newton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really gone downhill...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Used to go once in a while years ago...was acceptable to good then. Last year went once and it really took a dive....price vs. value is absurd! Went there again with friends about a month ago...my food was undercooked, pasta sauce was "tasteless", wine was cheap "tablewine" in facny bottle at huge price. Bill totalled about $145 for us and waiter even suggested we did not leave enough tip...! What a nerve!!! We will NEVER go there again....one big ripoff in our minds. Maybe if the "head chef" (more like "head cook") spent more time in the kitchen and less in the dining room impressing customers ..maybe the food could improve, but not holding my breath!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom76Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Smaller and Intimate Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went here on a Tuesday night and had reservations for 7 pm. Nice setting inside, and there were other diners there as well but it was not crowded. I don't think the reservation was really necessary since it was not completely full.

We all ordered drinks, and I started off with the arugula salad that was tossed with goat cheese and a lemon dressing--very delicious. My friend ordered the same, and my boyfriend ordered the grilled portabella salad. The server put pepper on mine as I requested it, but for my friend's salad he put way too much pepper on hers as she waved her hand over it for him to stop. She only ate a little after that as there was just too much pepper. Big waste of a $10 salad.

For entrees my friend and boyfriend both ordered the butternut squash ravioli, and I ordered the gnocchi. Very good all around, everyone was pleased with their food. Surprisingly, I was still a little hungry afterwards. The helpings are not that large to fill you up completely if you have a large appetite.

Overall a nice place to dine with a small group. It's more of a romantic setting with it being cozy and dimly lit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't be deceived”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This establishment tries so hard but fails in it's attempt to create a sense of European authenticity. The waiter doubling as host recites the menu in Italian accent, trying to ingratiate himself while mispronouncing so many words it's very hard to understand the list of specials. Extremely noisy place for a Friday evening. The bill for adults, three entrees, two salads and two soups, one glass of wine $130. The flavor and presentation NOTHING SPECIAL. A 20% tip was automatically applied and when no additional tip was included, the same waiter/host came back for more, requesting that it is customary for all patrons of the place to be more generous. Skip this trap. It's not worth your time or money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Conocedor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I tried this restaurant. I ordered lobster tagliatelle. The lobster claw tasted like chalk, and the sauce was tasteless. I wanted to taste basil and garlic. The buratta with tomatoes was also tasteless. The yellow tomatoes were the thinnest slices, there was just a touch of balsamic vinegar, not enough to really taste. The best part about the entire dinner was the lemon sorbet. We will never go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maggied00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
448 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A good choice in Newton Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tartufo has a relaxed and welcoming ambiance. Staff were very nice and accomodating. The menu had good options. Food presentation was professional, taste delicious and bright.
It had the perfect combination of a fine restaurant and a homemade feeling.
Wine list had good selections. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Azulado_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartufo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tartufo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing