We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Boston-area favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's

Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's
Ranked #54 of 256 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Boston-area favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I LOVE this place. I have been here 4 times now, and have had consistently delicious sushi. It is so pretty and tranquil, and the food and staff are great. I believe that fresh fish should be a given at any sushi restaurant, and they definitely do a great job in that department. What I think makes them better than other places around is that their sushi rice is more flavorful and vinegar-y than most places, not at all flat or tasteless. I could eat here every day of the week.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KECMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Daikanyama food quality varies from time to time and is generally overpriced. Service is very poor, with unfriendly wait staff, they never, ever smile. Not a good place for a business lunch as they take tooooo long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trueblue1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Stellar sushi in Newton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The dishes are presented beautifully, and service is very attentive at this posh yet family friendly spot. The decor is beautiful and clean. We love going there. It's on the pricey side, but worth it. It is not really in Bloomingdales, and feels like a standalone that has one entrance to the parking lot, and another into the dept. store.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scrutinizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Sat at the sushi bar and had great sushi. I tried my standard sushi, maguro, saba, hamachi, sake, tamago and toro. All were great. The toro was a bit expensive, @$20 probably would not order again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Marvelous sushi, yummy teriyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a friendly, warm and wonderful Japanese restaurant. There is a lovely sake menu; although the warm sake is not identified, it was very good. The sushi is extremely fresh and tasty, beautifully prepared and presented. The hit was the yellowtail teriyaki. Although the suggestion was to have it medium, we ordered it rare to raw after confirming that they used the sushi-grade fish for the preparation. That was an excellent decision, as the dish was amazingly good. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's also viewed

 

Been to Daikanyama at Bloomingdale's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing