We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”
Review of A Village B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Village B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my first time visiting Newton and my first time staying at the B&B. I couldn't have been more delighted with my choice. Claudia provided a warm and welcoming experience that I will never forget. My room was charming, comfortable, and cool -- even in the heat of July. The breakfast choices were excellent, and more than I could possibly eat. The location is so convenient, an easy walk to shops and very good restaurants. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I returned for a second time and remain extremely satisfied with this B & B. I was in Boston last summer. As usual, Claudia was great and the service was excellent. I love how close the B & B is to the T and restaurants. The area is beautiful. I am returning again in July and would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone. Thank you again Claudia for making my stay so comfortable!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We could not have asked for a better experience. The hostess was very inviting and personable, the food was incredible, and the accommodations were charming, clean and comfortable. The location was on a quiet street but was just a short walk from quaint shops and public transportation. We really loved our visit and intend to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private baths. Some rooms share a bath, which would work well for family members or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit the Boston area to see the change of season leaves. We arrived in the first week of October. The B&B is located off the Red Line of the mass transit system locally referred to the as the "T". Only a 2 block walk through a picturesque town center filled with shops and bakeries, etc. We were greeted and taken directly to "Katies" room. A beautiful bay window fronts the tree lined street. We were very comfortable. Our excursions to Boston and the surrounding area were very easy with our close access to the transit system. The breakfast was filling a had a variety of items to select from. Due to their size the rules limited them to a cold array. If you wish to fully enjoy your visit I recommend this place whole heartedly

Room Tip: Katies Room had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFought920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse suite, complete with bedroom, sitting room with kitchenette and en suite bathroom. It had everything we needed for our four nights stay during Marathon weekend. The breakfasts had a nice variety of foods and it was fun to chat with the other guests. Claudia is a very hospitable and caring hostess and was waiting for us when we returned from the Marathon, making sure we were safe. We will certainly hope to stay here again when we are in Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmmaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this place. Great hospitality, spotless house, great location. Claudia was friendly, accommodating and the room was superb. The house is just steps from part of Newton Village, it's on a quiet street, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during marathon weekend. I loved the decor of the home and of my room (a bit reminiscent of country living). Breakfast was delicious (continental style - fruit, bagel/pastry, choice of cereals, fresh hot coffee) and beautifully presented. Claudia is a kind, thoughtful, and caring host. The house is an easy walk to the T (Green Line D), and in a quiet neighborhood. It was a great haven in which to recuperate and recharge not only after 26.2 miles of running, but from the stressful events thereafter. I would look forward to staying here during any future visit to Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_metz_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newton hotels
3.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
2.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chesley Road Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to A Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Village B&B

Address: 69 Columbus St, Newton, MA 02461-1437
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Village B and B is a homestay B & B in the heart of Newton Highlands village, steps away from restaurants, craft and clothing stores and salons. It is a bustling village complete with commerce, and offers the convenience of a great walkability score. The MBTA to Boston is steps away for access to downtown, sites, and the airport all while not needing a car. Our rooms are busiest during May through November, so reserve early beginning with the Boston Marathon. We are convenient to major routes such as the MA Turnpike, I-95 and Route 9. Great location for trips to Fenway Park, local colleges such as Boston College, Brandeis, LaSalle, and Mount Ida, not far from Babson and Olin colleges as well. Many of our guests come for workshops at Samadhi Yoga Center, the Jungian Institute, or Healing Arts in Watertown. We have rooms with private bathrooms and shared bath. Prices float accordingly. We offer a continental breakfast each morning with home made and bakery items as well as yogurt, cheese, fruits, and beverages, according to what is allowed for small B and Bs in our state. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing