We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay for parents of Boston Ballet summer students”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Village B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Village B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC Canada
2 reviews
“A great stay for parents of Boston Ballet summer students”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before and my visit to a Village B & B was a pleasant surprise. We stayed in the upstairs suite which was very private. I was visiting Newton, MA to drop my daughter off for the Boston Ballet summer program. The B&B is less than a 10 minute bus ride to the Newton Studios and it was close to the college residence where my daughter was staying (a ride on the T and a 10 min walk). The B&B is a beautiful, well-kept home. Claudia is extremely friendly and accomodating. Her breakfasts were great and accomodated dietary restrictions. I would not hesitate to visit Claudia again! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
52
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed with Claudia at her beautiful home while visiting our daughter at Boston College.
It was amazing. We were visiting the 'States for our first time and our experience at A Village Bed and Breakfast exemplified how welcoming American's are.
We enjoyed the local shops and restaurants, but also the convenience of the T station for further afield exploring.
The shared breakfast's were great, full of variety of fruits, buns etc. The contact with other guests was enjoyable and interesting.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I absolutely can’t say enough good things about A Village Bed & Breakfast. Everything – from its centralized location to the comfy and beautiful rooms to the delicious customized breakfast -- is truly unparalleled.

I live in Los Angeles and needed to visit family in the Boston area. I located A Village Bed & Breakfast online. Its competitive rates and centralized location attracted me, but little did I know what a gem this beautiful place really is. The house is traditional yet modern, extremely clean and well-kept. My suite was gorgeous, with a huge bathroom, comfortable bed, widescreen TV and total privacy. The living room and dining room are so welcoming – it truly felt that I was coming home every night. Loved the convenient parking in the driveway and beautiful deck as well.

Equally impressive was the breakfast every morning. The host, Claudia Jacobs, has a checklist that guests fill out upon arrival of their favorite foods, and then serves them fresh every morning. Everything was yummy, with lots to choose from, from healthy yogurts to decadent muffins. I am a coffee fanatic, and Claudia gladly made me two pots of coffee.

I loved love loved the fact that A Village Bed & Breakfast is located one block from the T stop in a very safe and fashionable area of Newton Highlands. I went into the city several times, and Claudia was very helpful with directions and suggestions.

I had a wonderful time at this B & B, met some terrific people, and will continue to visit for years to come. Without a doubt, this outstanding experience stems from the dedication and professionalism of the owner. Claudia is truly customer-centered and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: The suite is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORI_5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay was wonderful and restful. Our rooms were equipped with all necessities, comfortable linens, and quiet solitude. Claudia was so helpful with all of our travel questions. She made sure our trip to Boston was pleasant and memorable. The breakfast was delicious and varied. Her B&B was very clean and inviting. We'd love to return to the Village B&B!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I would highly recommend A Village B&B. It was a lovely and inviting place to stay. Our breakfast was delicious with a nice variety to choose from. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. Claudia, our hostess, went above and beyond in every way to help make our stay the best that it could possibly be!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4SouthernTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This B&B is a great alternative to downtown Boston hotels. We stayed in the upstairs suite and we were very satisfied with our accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised by the set up of the rooms. The living room/kitchen is separate from the bedroom. You have the entire third floor to yourselves, so it is very private. The rooms were immaculately clean and very comfortably furnished.
The breakfasts consisted of homemade baked goods, yogurt, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals (including a homemade granola that was just perfect), juice and coffee. The home is in a very quiet neighbourhood, just a bit more than a block from the train into Boston. Our ride to Fenway Park took us twenty minutes.
Thank you, Claudia, for your graciousness. It was a pleasure staying at your home and we would love to come back someday soon!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite is worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Really good breakfast with a huge variety of things. Fresh organic fruits and scones and everything. Super comfortable bed and linen. Very comfy. Claudia was very helpful and courteous. We had a lovely time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
2.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
3.5 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Village B&B

Property: A Village B&B
Address: 69 Columbus St, Newton, MA 02461-1437
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Village B and B is a homestay B & B in the heart of Newton Highlands village, steps away from restaurants, craft and clothing stores and salons. It is a bustling village complete with commerce, and offers the convenience of a great walkability score. The MBTA to Boston is steps away for access to downtown, sites, and the airport all while not needing a car. Our rooms are busiest during May through November, so reserve early beginning with the Boston Marathon. We are convenient to major routes such as the MA Turnpike, I-95 and Route 9. Great location for trips to Fenway Park, local colleges such as Boston College, Brandeis, LaSalle, and Mount Ida, not far from Babson and Olin colleges as well. Many of our guests come for workshops at Samadhi Yoga Center, the Jungian Institute, or Healing Arts in Watertown. We have rooms with private bathrooms and shared bath. Prices float accordingly. We offer a continental breakfast each morning with home made and bakery items as well as yogurt, cheese, fruits, and beverages, according to what is allowed for small B and Bs in our state. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing