We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the soup!”
Review of Purple Onion Cafe

Purple Onion Cafe
Ranked #31 of 98 Restaurants in Newburyport
Restaurant details
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Have the soup!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The perfect place for a light lunch -- served fresh and piping hot. The sweet and sour tomato soup is DELICIOUS.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty little lunch spot”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A friend and I wanted to try something different for lunch. When we go to Newburyport, we typically go to the same places. We spotted this tiny shop, and we both ordered wraps. We walked inside, the counter in front of us. Actually, there was a a few people standing there not knowing what to get, and we had to maneuver around them to grab menus to see what was available. There are chairs and tables outside, but when the weather cools, there are a few places inside to sit at.

They have salads, sandwiches, soups, and apparently serve coffee and ice drinks. My friend got a spring veggie wrap, and I got one with roasted eggplant and portobello mushrooms, lettuce, tomato and cheese. The food was fresh and filling, though my wrap was very messy! I had to eat some of it with a fork and knife, and the bottom of the basket was swimming in a balsamic dressing. The wraps came with multigrain tortilla chips instead of potato chips, which was a nice change.

It's not an award winning spot, but it was quick, simple and tasty. I want to add that many items are vegetarian, and look like they can be easily made vegan if you omit the cheese.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to order a bunch of sandwiches from the Purple Onion since we had a Groupon and were having a couple of people over. We have lived in Newburyport for over 7 years now but stopped going to the Purple Onion after a few bad experiences. Well we gave it another try and are so glad that we did. We tried one of their specials, the ham and cheese panini, had the turkey and swiss panini, the roast beef sandwich with garlic mayo and the mexican wrap. We cut each one up into a few slices so eveyrone could sample. All were fantastic and everyone was raving about each one. We will definitely be going back soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Chili”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I go here for the chili. It is seasonal but it is the best in the area! Served with nacho chips. Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gottogotomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Love the food because its made on the spot but they are always running out and the hours are limited.Sometimes they are closed when they are suppose to be open. Do try the quiche of the day with tomato soup

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goanywhere28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Purple Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing