We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO GOOD!!!”
Review of Purple Onion Cafe

Purple Onion Cafe
Ranked #32 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Restaurant details
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Worth the wait for your food. Healthy, fresh food. REALLY inexpensive! My husband and I eat here for less than $30- including appetizers AND entrees! Absolutely love this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonRedSox34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cravable Food!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I used to work in Newburyport and eating at the purple onion was pretty standard. Their wraps are huge and could probably feed two! The buffalo chicken wrap was a particular favorite. There was enough heat in it! I definitely recommend you try this place for lunch!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Ever since my job relocated to downtown Newburyport, I've been a frequent customer at the Purple Onion for lunch. It helps that it's right outside the back door, but so is all of State Street. I choose Purple Onion on most days because their menu offers great choices in terms of variety, healthy (or not), plus it's reasonably priced. Service is always quick and with a smile.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fancyAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for sandwiches in Newburyport”
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Delicious, interesting sandwiches. Nice location on pedestrian street with outdoor seating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Usually worth the wait”
Reviewed May 5, 2008

The biggest problem with the Purple Onion is its popularity. Although the food is nearly always good (sometimes I'm a little annoyed that they can't make something to order because they don't have something like, well, how about pickles?), the wait is sometimes a little long. If you get there at lunchtime, expect 15 to 20 minutes to get your food if it's busy.

The food, though, is all around delicious. The wraps are overstuffed and large -- one wrap may be enough to feed two people! But the food choices are unique to the Purple Onion and it makes it stand out. For instance, you can basically get the equivalent of a turkey dinner in a wrap. And it's delicious! Everything is served in an eclectic, funky style, consistent with the theme of the place.

Comfortable but limited seating is available indoors, but take advantage of the weather when you can to sit outside in the park.

Helpful?
2 Thank DaveNBPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Purple Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing