We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinking Bar”
Review of Thirsty Whale

Thirsty Whale
Ranked #28 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Restaurant details
Rowley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Drinking Bar”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The have the best Bloody Marys! It's ike a meal and a drink! It's a friendly place and very quaint atmosphere. Very comfortable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local Bar”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a locals bar with friendly people serving and patrons. Food is average but has a great atmosphere. Jeans and a T-shirt kind of bar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
“Local Yokels”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bartender asked me ''why do YOU have the day off?'' Ten other patrons sitting there, but he wanted to question me as to why I wasn't working....Locals stare at you like you have two heads...One even asked me why I chose to go ''there'' as if it's a private club or something...But the real kicker? The creepy guy trying to pass himself off as a lil' ol' lady!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Whale of a Good time!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Thirsty Whale, like most of the places in the village, is right within walking distance of where I was staying. Their fish-n-chips platter is plentiful and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank missjean64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stopped by for lunch and were severely disappointed. Service was slow, portions were small, prices were high and the food was tasteless. By far the worst pub food I have had in a long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Whale also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing