We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go native with the fried clams”
Review of Park Lunch

Park Lunch
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
Restaurant details
Newbury Old Town, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go native with the fried clams”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Park Lunch is a local restaurant. Right of spring is the fabulous fried clam plate. Never disappointed. Great drinks and no deserts. How can you go wrong?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ringo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    48
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always Go Where The Locals Go...”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

...and you usually won't go wrong. Newburyport offers an abundance of rather tony restaurants and a few casual but great little eateries such as The Park Lunch. This place is usually busy around lunch and dinner time for a good reason: It is frequented by local residents and others who have come to appreciate plentiful good food at reasonable prices. Whether you're craving pizza, fried clams, a juicy steak sandwich (my favorite!) or other tasty fare, you're likely to find it here. Service is fast and friendly. Cozy booths and tables are available but may involve a brief wait. In the evening hours, the full-service bar serves very good drinks at about half the price of those served in Boston. NB: The parking lot fills up early but you'll usually find a spot in short order. Do not park in nearby "posted" areas or your ride may be towed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fried clams hands down”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My favorite food is fried clams and the clams here are exquisite Puts most to shame.

I can't really comment on any other food as I have only ordered clams.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burtonbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best little place!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Been going here for 30 years and the food and service has consistently been excellent. They have the best friend clams around. Prices are unmatched. Where else can you get a mixed drink for $4?
Mike, the low-profile on-site owner keeps a sharp eye to make sure his restaurant is run well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Waitress Service and Tastiest Fried Clams”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Recently we elected to have lunch at your restaurant while visiting your town of Newburyport. We were amazed at the friendliness and the efficiency of our waitress named Ann. Ann displayed great patience with our group during a busy lunch hour . Ann went out of her way to insure that we were satisfied with our meals and the service we received.
In addition to excellent service, the fried clams that three people in our group ordered--all agreed that it was the best fried clams we have ever eaten. The fourth member of our group had fried haddock and was also raving about his meal.
Compliments to your chefs and your waiter staff for making some visiting Texans feel like we were home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Park Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing