We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to settle in for an evening”
Review of Mission Oak Grill

Mission Oak Grill
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: High Street
Transit: Public Lot available on Green Street
Description: Set in the beautiful seaside town of historic Newburyport, Massachusetts, Mission Oak Grill is an inviting, warm restaurant elegantly decorated with wood tones and classic leather. Guests can dine in our bustling mission-style dining room as well as at our spacious and lively bar. Serving a full menu seven days a week, our many steaks are simply prepared using fresh local ingredients of the highest quality. Mission Oak Grill welcomes you to join us for dinner and to sample our extensive International wine list. We are sure you will find the service to be exemplary and your experience to be wonderful, time and time again.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to settle in for an evening”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

of good food and drink. The prices were a bit high, but the quality of the food was good. The short-rib empanadas were delicious. Again, a little pricey ($12 for two), but taking into consideration the work that goes into them and the quality of the filling, it was a good deal. Overall, I'd go back again, but it would have to be a special occasion to make the pricepoint worthy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamakays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    102
    39
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the bar!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The bartenders are fabulous-fun and make a great drink. It's a beautiful restaurant, dark wood, comfy seating and the food is top notch. It's a little pricey but worth the trip when you can swing it! Also excellent for a special dinner....I did that just once and it was delicious from start to finish with great service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Catered dinner at the Lighthouse”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

These folks catered my once in a lifetime dinner at the top of the lighthouse. The food was driven back and forth from our waitress and I have to say since the restaurant is a couple of miles away that it held up amazingly. Will definitely go back and have dinner at a real table too!!

Filets were great as was the creme brulee for dessert.!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Washburn7ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary in Newburyport, MA. We dined at the Mission Oak Grill on Saturday night, 4/20/13, and enjoyed every minute of it! He had the steak tips, cooked to perfection, and I had the Salmon. The service was great and a women who I assumed was the manager on duty, checked in on us. She was so very pleasant and helpful. We highly recommend the Mission Oak Grill!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good selection, just ok food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The first thing you notice about MOG is the atmosphere; despite being a large room it has a warm and intimate feel. The menu is extensive, offering something for everyone - including gluten free, but our meals were more like wedding food than gourmet restaurant food. The scallop apps. were good, but the haddock came with a huge pile of whipped potatoes which were average in flavor and garlic spinach that was nothing special. The filet mignon (5 oz) came with a tiny pot of whipped potatoes which would be great for someone on a diet, but would leave most men starving. The presentation was not attractive and, overall, the meal was blah. Service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Oak Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mission Oak Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing