We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MOST PLEASANT B&B IN NEWBURYPORT, MA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 167 Water Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburyport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Newburyport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chartres, France
1 review
“MOST PLEASANT B&B IN NEWBURYPORT, MA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We occupied one of two very comfortable rooms, our host helped carry two very heavy bags to our room, and our hostess presided over a marvelous breakfast. The walk to the shopping area in Newburyport was under fifteen minutes through a very pleasant neighborhood. The friendliness of our host and hostess was outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classagent50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

So we arrived at the water street B&B and welcomed by Chuck and Anne, charming well knowledge couple. Our stay was for only one night, attending wedding in Tops Field mass. Figured we could spend the Saturday at the wedding and use the Sunday to tour Newburyport and plum Island.
The B&B was built back in 1845, and she is showing some signs of her age, little sagging in the front and rear, made the mistake of saying kind of like you honey. Anyway the two room house has an assortment of nick knacks from travels to India and Africa. Anne belonged to the piece core and traveled there frequently, Chuck is a retired professor. Our room in the back had a view of the water inlet nice, but one thing to mention there is a water treatment plant just out back… The smell did not make it to the room, but when you got to the parking lot, yep you know it’s their. In the room the sheets and blanket were showing their age and need an upgrade, and the bath while passably clean needed a little TLC updating. A Tall person would have difficulties in the shower Coffee and the continental breakfast was very good with plenty of selection (hrd boiled eggs, breads,english muffins, bagels, with fresh fruit).

My wife’s dress for the wedding the zipper failed and Anne was able to supply the tools to repair it, which gave it the family touch one always looks for in a B&B.
Would I recommend 167 water street.. Yes I would with no hesitation, walking distance to all the downtown activities. If you have to stay in the area and need a affordable and comfortable place to spend a night or two then this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-Trails14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

In urban areas the world over, the residents of high-density housing try to maximize their indoor and outdoor space. For the interior, that means keeping rooms uncluttered and well lit. Outside, fences and shrubs and statuary help in adding effect to what may be a "postage-stamp lot." Although Newburyport is home to less than 20,000 people, the block of Water St on which 167 is situated is taken up by row houses which wouldn't be out of place in NYC, London, etc. What innkeepers Anne and Chuck have done with their living quarters also fits in with those of larger metropolises.

Their smallish rooms are furnished sparingly so as to allow for a sense of space. Out back, a path of flat rocks bisects the narrow yard, where the fences on either side are lined with flowers and bushes. Water babbles continuously into a small stone above-ground well. I spent some relaxing hours just reading on the couch in the downstairs room which faces that "vest pocket" garden.

City dwellers also learn to tune out unwanted noises and to look only where views are favorable. The previous contributor's comments regarding the front bedroom are well taken. However, as someone who's called bustling urban centers home for most of his adult life the passing traffic in front posed no impediment to sound sleep. Water St is moderately busy during the daytime and evening but only sees the occasional vehicle late at night. More importantly, people looking to stay in the larger "Sorrento Room" should be aware that the magnificent views of the Merrimack River and the backyard garden aren't all they'll see from their windows. For immediately to the north lies the municipal water treatment plant. Ears won't be assaulted, but without forewarning eyes could be.

"DIY" breakfasts are what they are, and that's what you're treated to at 167 Water. As someone who generally forgoes the morning meal it's nice for me to be able to partake of yogurt, fresh fruit, a toasted frozen bagel and a bowl of granola. Plus the locally-produced jams and honey taste great on bread. But make no mistake, this isn't one of those B & B's where the owners are awake before dawn baking muffins from scratch and turning out pancakes or omelettes made to order.

Chuck and Anne are "hosts with the most." Anne graciously collected me at the train station upon my arrival. Both made it abundantly clear that a lift to Plum Island or downtown was mine for the asking. Chuck even blurred the line between business and private lives on his part by enlisting my help in sampling sangria he was mixing for a dinner party Anne and he were throwing one evening. Had I ever spent time in Africa or "south of the (US) border" I'm sure the conversations would've never seemed to end! Well-educated and cosmopolitan, yet approachable and down-to-earth, this couple is perfectly suited for innkeeping.

My sojourn at 167 Water this summer was my first, but won't be my last.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spensworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

I'd like to start off by saying that Chuck and Anne were graceful and pleasent hosts of this small B and B on the edge of town in Newburyport. The proximity to town, price, and the other reviews were the reasons for the choice for our one night stay on our drive down the NH and north MA coast.
That being said there are a few things not mentioned in the other reviews which should be helpful to other travelers. This establishment has only two rooms, 2nd floor, with a shared bath, which for one night is not an issue for me, however the room in the rear of the house was reserved so we took the front quarters. This room unfortunitly is only about 10 feet from one of the busyiest streets in town. Needless to say that even with the windows closed and the air on it was still difficult to sleep from the traffic noise (it was beautiful sleeping weather but an open window was out of the question). The A.M. noise was even louder so don't count on a good night sleep in this room.
Sheets and blanket were showing their age and need an upgrade, and the bath while passably clean needed tilework and updateing.
Coffee and the continental breakfast was very good with plenty of selection (hrd boiled eggs, breads,english muffins, bagels, with fresh fruit).
The back room at this B and B would be a very good value however I would not return if only the frount room was availble.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We can not help the traffic on the road, but we now have ear plugs and for most people putting the air conditioner on air solves the traffic problem. Since you were here, we have totally redone the bathroom with new flooring and all new appliances, including a hand pained sink from Mexico. The room is $15 less than the room facing the river, so that guests have a choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

Very nice hosts, charming decor, great location. Easy walking distance to downtown (less than 10 min walk). Would recommend at twice the price.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — Could only stay one night.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

Very nice place - clean, casual & comfortable, with friendly & knowledgable hosts. Interesting international decor, delicious ample breakfast and within walking distance to town! Have returned several times.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank VagabondMA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D-F, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

This was our second stay with Chuck and Anne. Whether staging for a Boston visit or overnighting after a Plum Island wedding, Chuck and Anne are most gracious hosts. With ready information about the historic and picturesque environs of Newburyport and Plum Island, they enhanced our visit. The comfortable rooms and ample breakfast round out the New England town experience.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 302jxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.7 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
16.2 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 167 Water Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 167 Water Bed and Breakfast

Property: 167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Address: 167 Water St, Newburyport, MA 01950-3040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 167 Water Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Bed and Breakfast in an 1845 riverside home in Newburyport, MA. Located a short walk from the historic downtown, our B&B offers two guest rooms decorated with European and African art and a shared bath. A generous breakfast is included. Parking is available behind the house. Non smoking. No pets. Check in after 4:00. Cancellation policy is 72 hours in high season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
167 Water b&b
167 Water Hotel Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing