We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay - would highly recommend”

167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Newburyport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. My mother, husband and I spent a few nights here and it really suited our needs. The house is a charming, historic house conveniently located in walking distance from downtown Newburyport. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Ann and Chuck were very welcoming and helpful with recommendations. For breakfast we had a selection of nice breads and jams, cereals, hard boiled eggs and different fresh, summer fruit cups each day. It was all in all a wonderful place and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loudmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Warm and comfy B&B, stay here every year when we visit Newburyport. Easy walk to down town with lots of shops and restaurants. Also nice walk along the river. Breakfast always ready when requested. Looking forward to next year for two weeks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and we hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a wonderful place, creaky floors, comfortable bed and great hosts. The best bang for your buck in Newburyport. Ann and Chuck couldn't have been more warm, we spent one evening chatting and talking about our travels. They had a continental breakfast ready every morning with fresh juice, tea, coffee, cereal, muffins,or eggs. They had great recommendations for places to see and restaurants to try. I plan to come back every year.

Room Tip: I like both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and we hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The B & B does not seem subject to very strict standards.
The welcome was ordinary.
Cleanliness is poor, worn and dirty carpet, obviously let go throughout the house
The basement smell of mold and everything is upside down
Breakfast was continental style with a cup of fruit.
We stayed 4 nights and were served the same pot of orange juice on our last morning with a fly floating on the surface, same as we had noticed on the previous day.
On the breakfast table, white hairs of our host
The mattress was soft and out of shape
And what about view on the bay, overlooking the water treatment plant, with foul odors.
Alright for one night,
Bathroom was acceptable

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SylvieD5163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay here. You never said anything to us about your issues, so they could have been corrected. You only complained that the weather was too hot or too rainy, neither of which we could have corrected. And that you “had seen all there was to see” and wanted to leave a day early without paying for the last night. If you had a fly 2 days running in your orange juice, which seems improbable to us as we refill the carafe daily, we wish you had said something. Also the house was professionally cleaned while you were here. We try to do everything in our power to provide our guests with a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We enjoyed our five nights at 167 Water. Ann and Chuck were great hosts.

Each morning we enjoyed our breakfasts and jazz tunes on the stereo. Ann and Chuck provided us with personalized recommendations and delighted us with local history... Also, the bed in the Bamako room was very comfortable.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and come back and visit! We really enjoyed meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I loved staying at 167 Water. Ann & Chuck were warm, gracious, welcoming and fun! They helped me navigate Newburyport and even land a new apartment! They know everyone and everything there is to do. I felt like staying for a very long time. I highly recommend a visit to this classic Newburyport B&B. Ask the owners about their travels too!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am from Newburyport and whenever I need to go back this is the first place I look to stay. There is a shared bathroom with one other guest (so it works best if you are staying with friends that rent the other room too). The place is clean and the host are very accommodating. The location is close to the downtown and Plum Island. It is a private house where they rent out the two upstairs bedrooms.

Room Tip: The back bedroom has a view of the Merrimack River and bay. But I think they charge a little more f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LostGaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.4 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
21 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.9 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 167 Water Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 167 Water Bed and Breakfast

Address: 167 Water St, Newburyport, MA 01950-3040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 167 Water Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Bed and Breakfast in an 1845 riverside home in Newburyport, MA. Located a short walk from the historic downtown, our B&B offers two guest rooms decorated with European and African art and a shared bath. A generous breakfast is included. Parking is available behind the house. Non smoking. No pets. Check in after 4:00. Cancellation policy is 72 hours in high season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your 167 Water Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
167 Water b&b
167 Water Hotel Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing