We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex Street Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Owings, Maryland
1 review
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you are ever in Newburyport, MA .... you need to stay at the Essex Inn! Nestled right into this historic town the Inn is like a home away from home. Friendly, down to earth staff, ready and willing to do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable and eventful. Our room was large, quaint and very comfortable. Walk out the front door and you are right downtown. Coffee and tea available in the lobby 24hours and a delicious light breakfast in the morning. If you are looking for an "authentic" visit to this historic town... pull in the driveway (free parking! ) of 7 Essex St.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you John for this wonderful review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and Newburyport itself.

We hope you will vist again soon!

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    94
    47
    7
    15
See reviews for
51
172
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We try to stay here every year when we come back to Newburyport. When we lived in the city we recommended it to visitors and we have no hesitation in continuing to do so. Well kept, very clean, comfortable bedding, outstanding location (just a few steps from all the shopping and dining) and a terrific staff. The parking in the rear is adequate and the rooms are large and well decorated. There is no restaurant on the premises but several very good ones in the neighborhood. The breakfast at the hotel is muffins, cereal, fruit, etc. and there is a Keurig machine with plenty of coffee and tea choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are pleased that this guest enjoyed there recent stay with us and the surrounding area.
Newburyport is a very pretty and exciting town this time of year.

We thank you for posting this review and hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My daughter and I and our friends truly enjoyed our stay at Essex Street Inn! We walked to restaurants and shops as the inn is located in a great location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The inn is quaint and very clean! The chocolate chip cookies left out for guests were delicious! We will look forward to staying at the inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you Michele for your recent stay this past June. We are glad you , your daughter and friends enjoyed your stay with us and the Chocolate Chip cookies while exploring our beautiful city.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Perfect location. The right blend of old and up-to-date. Our second-floor room boasted a comfy king bed and jacuzzi tub. Large room, updated bath, though little shelving/storage in the bathroom (pedestal sink). A separate vanity outside of the bathroom provided a solution to that problem and also allowed one of us to "primp" while the other showered. Why shower if there's a jacuzzi? Brown scum shot out when we turned on the jets. A surprising turn of events, given how clean the room was. They made it right by charging us for a standard room instead of the jacuzzi upgrade when we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We would like to thank this guest for their stay this past June. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the Jacuzzi. Immediately after this guests departure we had our housekeepers flush the jets and since we have had no further issues.

We appreciate this guests understanding and feeling that the discount that was given upon check out was appropriate.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked ahead and got a small top-floor room. The Inn is homey and welcoming, and literally steps away from the main street with many restaurants and shops. We enjoyed many walking excursions throughout the town. There is private parking behind the inn, which is very convenient.

On the plus side is the comfortable, clean room and bath, generous continental breakfast with fresh fruit and a coffee maker that brews your individual choice of coffee or tea (and whenever in the day you'd like it.) The staff is very helpful, too. The wifi is free and dependable. We loved the roof windows/skylights with a rooftop view.

Just a few small complaints are that the TV didn't work, in spite of a good instruction sheet on it that described how to get it to work. There was no desk or small table to put a laptop on, and there was only one chair in the room. One of us had nowhere to sit except the bed or floor. The room was small (we did choose an inexpensive attic room) but there was no closet, nor coat hook in the room for jackets. There were hooks in the bath but those were used for towels and toiletry kits. We put the jackets on the floor, or the chair when it was not being sat in. The shower was almost too small to bend down to pick up the soap (and I am a 120 lb. person.)

Overall, I would perhaps stay here again, but would choose a higher priced room to be more comfortable.

Room Tip: The small top floor rooms in the main building are a lower price, but quite spare, perhaps better su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaupstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you to this previous guest for their stay this past May and taking the time to post this review.
It is true that our rooms on the 3rd floor of the main building are less expensive than our regular standards on the first and second floors. This is mainly due to no elevator to access the 3rd floor , As well as because they are smaller and less spacious. We are more than happy to take all suggestions by this reviewer into consideration.

We do have satellite television in all our rooms and at times these can become temperamental. All our staff is trained and has access to resources to fix any issues that may arise.

We are pleased that to despite this few issues these guests overall enjoyed there stay with us and visit to Historic Newburyport, Massachusetts.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a well-located and very cute inn. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, and the mattresses on the beds absolutely divine. Newburyport is a quaint and picturesque town, and the hotel portrays the personality of the village well. The inn offers a simple continental breakfast, umbrella when needed, and spectacular wifi. All the comforts of home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timetraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much to this guest for choosing to stay with us while visiting Newburyport and taking the time to post this great review.
We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and doing everything we can to make our guests stay a satisfying and memorable experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went to Newburyport for a wedding and about half the party stayed at the Essex. Rooms were simple but clean, breakfast was fantastic, and the location was perfect!

Staff really were very helpful and price was right... Also, Newburyport is absolutely beautiful... Go to the historical society if you come to visit :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Patrick for this wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to explore beautiful historic Newburyport. We hope to see you again!

Happy Summer,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
18.4 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Property: Essex Street Inn & Suites
Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Newburyport, the Essex Street Inn provides charming and comfortable accommodations for business travelers and those fun get-aways. The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access. A lovely breakfast room offers fresh teas and coffees around the clock, continental breakfast, and the morning paper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
Essex Street Inn And Suites
The Essex Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing