We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A comfortable inn and a lovely place for wedding group. Quaint and inviting and the staff was helpful and knowledgeable when we asked questions about the surrounding area. We appreciated everyone's hard work and smiles that helped make for a wonderful weekend and beautiful wedding

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We thank this guest for there stay this past April and are pleased they had an enjoyable stay with us and the surrounding area.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Essex Street Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 369 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found the Essex Street Inn to have a great location. It's only one half block from the quaint downtown. However, the room itself we thought was over-priced and quite average. The inn could use a coat of paint and some upgrading. The room was clean although small and dated. There was no table and only one chair. The continental breakfast was average, nothing to write home about. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for this review.
We are currently in the process of making needed renovations and touch ups to our rooms and common areas. With 37 rooms this does take some time and we are doing the best we can while remaining open and working around the needs of our guests.
Breakfast is a cold, self serve continental type. Should guests require more sustenance there are plenty of wonderful restaurants within walking distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I took my wife here for a birthday weekend trip. We were there in the off-season, but aside from the cool weather, we were still able to enjoy this pretty New England town and all it has to offer. The inn is centrally-located in a town that is very walkable. There are a number of great shops and restaurants all within a quick walk.

As for the inn itself, the decor is fresh and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the facilities clean, and parking was ample. We had access to a carport in case it snowed, but we opted to leave our car around back, which worked out fine. We also loved the Keurig machine setup in the lobby. They carried a broad selection of teas and coffees, which we made effective use of. I would recommend the Keurig over the coffeepot in the room.

Our room was a One-Room Suite with a gas fireplace and jacuzzi in the room located in the building next door to the main building. It was nice to be able to lounge in the jacuzzi and still watch tv. The gas fireplace was very convenient. I see the benefits of using an authentic wood fireplace, which they offer in their other suite, but this fireplace went on with a quick flick of the switch. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable and cozy.

The last thing I would add was kind of a personal preference. The suite had a great second-floor view overlooking the historic buildings on Center Street. The history and architecture of Newburyport is what really appeals to me, so I thought that was a nice perk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaugJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for this guests recent stay and taking the time to post this fabulous review. We are glad they found our accomidations comfortable and the Newburyport area inviting. We look forward to seeing these guests again and meeting any new guests who decide to visit in the future based on this review.

Happy Spring,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What better way to spend a romantic weekend than in a room with a fireplace (wood provided) and a jacuzzi tub especially in the middle of a snow storm. The inn was absolutely beautiful and the innkeeper was very helpful we only wished we stayed longer to enjoy more of Newburyport. We will definately return!

Room Tip: Room with the fireplace if you are staying ing the colder months
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you to this guest for their recent stay. We are glad that our good old fashion New England weather did not hinder their plans to visit Newburyport and stay with us.
We are happy to hear they enjoyed this visit and look foward to seeing them again soon.
Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Charming, historic, affordable and ideally located. - what's not to love? The inn is only half a block from the town's main street; there is easy access to restaurants, nightlife, etc., but absolutely peaceful once inside. All in all this is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tedtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are happy that they enjoy Newburyport and your stays with us.
We look forward to their return.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small room, small bath, fits in with the 19th century feel of the town. However, back then I'm sure they had real glasses as opposed to paper cups and the breakfast wasn't processed foods.
It is well located for the action on Main Street and feels 1890. All in all worth a try.
Didn't get to try the exercise room as the weater was very cold and it was located in the building next door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We would like to thank this guest for their recent stay ans taking the time to post this review.
All of our paper cups are 100% recyclable. Our breakfast items do come fresh from a local distrubutor. There are plently of great breakfast restaurants in the area within walking distance should guests wish for a more hearty breakfast.

This guest stayed in our original building. The building with the exercise faculity is just a stone throw next door.
We thank these guests for their recommendation and look forward to accommodating them again should they return to Newburyport, Massachusettes.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Essex Inn. Its location in the middle of Newburyport made it easy to walk to dinner every night and just enjoy a stroll around town. The waterfront is also in walking distance and absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you to this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
All the Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
18 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#6 of 41 in Hampton
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range: $155 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Newburyport, the Essex Street Inn provides charming and comfortable accommodations for business travelers and those fun get-aways. The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access. A lovely breakfast room offers fresh teas and coffees around the clock, continental breakfast, and the morning paper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Inn And Suites
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
The Essex Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing