We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Clean Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex Street Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I took my wife here for a birthday weekend trip. We were there in the off-season, but aside from the cool weather, we were still able to enjoy this pretty New England town and all it has to offer. The inn is centrally-located in a town that is very walkable. There are a number of great shops and restaurants all within a quick walk.

As for the inn itself, the decor is fresh and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the facilities clean, and parking was ample. We had access to a carport in case it snowed, but we opted to leave our car around back, which worked out fine. We also loved the Keurig machine setup in the lobby. They carried a broad selection of teas and coffees, which we made effective use of. I would recommend the Keurig over the coffeepot in the room.

Our room was a One-Room Suite with a gas fireplace and jacuzzi in the room located in the building next door to the main building. It was nice to be able to lounge in the jacuzzi and still watch tv. The gas fireplace was very convenient. I see the benefits of using an authentic wood fireplace, which they offer in their other suite, but this fireplace went on with a quick flick of the switch. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable and cozy.

The last thing I would add was kind of a personal preference. The suite had a great second-floor view overlooking the historic buildings on Center Street. The history and architecture of Newburyport is what really appeals to me, so I thought that was a nice perk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaugJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for this guests recent stay and taking the time to post this fabulous review. We are glad they found our accomidations comfortable and the Newburyport area inviting. We look forward to seeing these guests again and meeting any new guests who decide to visit in the future based on this review.

Happy Spring,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    94
    47
    7
    15
See reviews for
51
172
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

What better way to spend a romantic weekend than in a room with a fireplace (wood provided) and a jacuzzi tub especially in the middle of a snow storm. The inn was absolutely beautiful and the innkeeper was very helpful we only wished we stayed longer to enjoy more of Newburyport. We will definately return!

Room Tip: Room with the fireplace if you are staying ing the colder months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you to this guest for their recent stay. We are glad that our good old fashion New England weather did not hinder their plans to visit Newburyport and stay with us.
We are happy to hear they enjoyed this visit and look foward to seeing them again soon.
Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Charming, historic, affordable and ideally located. - what's not to love? The inn is only half a block from the town's main street; there is easy access to restaurants, nightlife, etc., but absolutely peaceful once inside. All in all this is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are happy that they enjoy Newburyport and your stays with us.
We look forward to their return.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small room, small bath, fits in with the 19th century feel of the town. However, back then I'm sure they had real glasses as opposed to paper cups and the breakfast wasn't processed foods.
It is well located for the action on Main Street and feels 1890. All in all worth a try.
Didn't get to try the exercise room as the weater was very cold and it was located in the building next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We would like to thank this guest for their recent stay ans taking the time to post this review.
All of our paper cups are 100% recyclable. Our breakfast items do come fresh from a local distrubutor. There are plently of great breakfast restaurants in the area within walking distance should guests wish for a more hearty breakfast.

This guest stayed in our original building. The building with the exercise faculity is just a stone throw next door.
We thank these guests for their recommendation and look forward to accommodating them again should they return to Newburyport, Massachusettes.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Essex Inn. Its location in the middle of Newburyport made it easy to walk to dinner every night and just enjoy a stroll around town. The waterfront is also in walking distance and absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you to this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
All the Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went for a weekend stay. The property we right in the center of town. Seconds from shopping and restuarants. Rooms were clean and had all the immentities that you need. Stayed in a 2 floor bedroom suite with fireplace, TV, Full Kitchen, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to post this review. We are glad you had a wonderful time and look forward to your return in 2013.
Happy Holidays,
Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a great weekend at the Essex Street Inn. We are a group of 18 couples who find a different town and inn for an annual get-together. Kathy Ross the Manager was incredibly helpful with our booking every step of the way. All the rooms are different, unique and beautiful. The staff was so helpful, they even brought firewood for our hospitality suite and served a delicious continental breakfast each morning. Everyone in our group was very impressed with the inn and the entire town of Newburyport. We just parked our cars on Friday night at the inn and walked everywhere for the rest of the weekend. We even had light snow for our "Christmas Stroll Group" - this was our 30th Annual celebration and it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSOUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review. It was a great pleasure working with this group and we are happy they had a great stay and felt they had great service.
Happy Holidays,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
18.4 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Property: Essex Street Inn & Suites
Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Newburyport, the Essex Street Inn provides charming and comfortable accommodations for business travelers and those fun get-aways. The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access. A lovely breakfast room offers fresh teas and coffees around the clock, continental breakfast, and the morning paper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
Essex Street Inn And Suites
The Essex Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing