We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$127
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue - Inn on the Beach(Plum Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
210
105
53
10
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
105
53
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastthe main streetgreat locationgas fireplacejacuzzi tubbridal suitestandard roombagelskeurig machinerestaurants and shopsrewards programoff street parkingin townrooms are clean and comfortablefull kitchenpark your carair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 394 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the outside suite which is handicapped accessible, but we needed a king bed, so we took it. The suite was spacious and consisted of two rooms, one with a convertible couch, and the bedroom and bathroom- all rooms were huge! The suite was clean and updated and also had a gas-lit fireplace in the bedroom, which was a nice touch. The breakfast could have been better, but it served the purpose. The inn is located right in town, just steps away from the shops and restaurants, so we didn't need the car. The inn also offers a two-room house located on the river which is nice but a little remote. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Overall, a nice place to stay and we will definitely book here again as the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dede48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to post this review.
We hope to see you again soon,
Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in the main building, which is a large nicely furnished turn of the century building. Feels a bit like staying in a stately home. The welcome was warm, and the room large and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was really showing its age, but it was extremely clean nevertheless. We had a downstairs front room, so you get a bit of street noise, and lots of front-door squeaking from guests coming and going, but a spot of light oil would fix that. Our room was extremely warm on arrival, yet we woke up freezing because we hadn't noticed that all the windows were open slightly! WiFi is free and works well, and there's a help-yourself Keurig coffee maker with which I became firm friends (with a large selection, obviously they listened to the previous reviewer's complaints about the K-Cups!)

Breakfast is a fairly dismal take on the standard B&B continental affair, but on the plus side you're about 2 minutes walk from all of Newburyport's best places to eat, so grab one of their excellent coffees, skip the crap breakfast, and head into town.

If they sorted the bathrooms out and put a bit more thought into breakfast it would be just about perfect, but as it is it's still highly commendable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovely room in the from of the building. Room is pleasantly decorated in a Victorian style. Bedding covers were a bit tired and need replacing. Free coffee and water in the room. Really liked it. Breakfast was standard, English muffins, bagels, yoghurt and cereal. They have a Keurig machine for communal use, and it makes coffee of a good standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for this guest for their stay and taking the time to post this review. We do plan on replacing our bedding and attending to any other cosmetic needs of our accomodations during our low season unless on an emergency basis.
Regards,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For an historic Inn, I expected much more. Breakfast was pre-packaged muffins, frozen waffles, etc. Even chain hotels that advertise "free breakfast" at least have a do-it-yourself waffle maker, so the food is hot. I thought this was tacky for a New England B&B-type accommodation. The bed was very uncomfortable - for over $200 a night, they should have new, comfy beds. Room was clean overall, but there were just little details that went unattended (dusty surfaces, missing light bulb over the sink, thin small towels). Great location, loved the fireplace and the whirlpool tub. Overall, though, I have gotten much better quality and service at similar-style Inns. The corner cutting was very apparent.

Lastly, we had reservations for the Saturday and Sunday nights of a 3-day weekend. Our plan was to travel up to Newburyport on Saturday morning, but on Thursday our schedule freed up to allow us to leave on Friday. I looked on line, and the room we had booked (along with a bunch of others) was still available for Friday night. I called the Inn and asked if they would work with us on a discounted last-minute rate for Friday night. They called me back and said no - the policy for the long weekend was full price for all nights. We ended up staying at a chain hotel nearby for half the price. I thought it was really bad business to not at least offer a token discount - instead they let the room go unsold. It reinforces for me the "cheap" atmosphere at the Essex Street Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you to this former guest for their stay and pasting this review. In response,this guest reseved for a holiday weekend during our high season which runs from June 1st thru November 1st. During this time we do require atleast a 2 night mininum on weekends and do not offer any discounts for last minute stays. Weekdays we do offer discounted rates thru outside online service vendors which are subject to availability.

We do offer a self serve, continential style breakfast. We do not have a fully functioning kitchen on site and cannot have a hot "waffle maker" set up during breakfast hours in our breakfast room due to liability as we allow small children . Their are plenty of great restaraunts within walking distance that do offer a hot breakfast for a good price.

All of our beds and mattresses have been upgraded or replaced with in the past few years.

Finally , the two areas we here at the Essex Street Inn pride ourselves on is great customer service and the cleanliness of our guest rooms. I have brought the housekeeping concerns of the reviewer to our housekeeping supervisor.

Thank you again for being our guest,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in August. We loved the location and we love NBPT. Our room had a gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub with a king bed. It was very clean and comfortable. We really appreciated the in-room mini-fridge. We were impressed with the selection of breakfast offerings. Parking behind the inn works out great. The only suggestion I would make is more and fluffier/bigger towels in the rooms. Front desk staff were not particularly friendly, but it didn't bother us. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyDeViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad that you had a good time during your visit to historic Newburyport. The two things we here at the Essex Street Inn pride ourselves on is the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our guest rooms. We do apologize that this reviewer was disatassifed with one of these.
I assure you things will be different when you return.
Best Wishes,
Kathy Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews