We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We loved the Essex Inn and can't wait to go back!

The atmosphere was perfect, quaint but also very up to date and well done. We loved the jacuzzi tub and the beautiful four poster bed. The location was perfect, we walked into town-less then a block. Staff was always courteous and helpful. The prices were quite reasonable and we were surprised by the quality considering the costs!

The best part of our stay was the wood fire place. Some rooms have gas, we loved the wood burning fire place in our room!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmercky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    102
    51
    8
    15
See reviews for
52
189
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ma
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2008

Greeted by very friendly staff, the accomodations were excellent just as advertised. The continental breakfast had many items. The suite was very cozy and comfortable.
The view off the back deck was awesome. Off street parking, was convienent. Centrally located amoungst the heart of Newburyport, perfect for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

This is a great place for a weekend getaway. We stayed for one night in February 2008. This is a well-kept property with polite helpful staff in a great downtown location.

We had a room with a king bed and a gas fireplace in building 2 (there are three adjacent buildings). Our room also had a jacuzzi tub which was right next to the bed, which was a little odd. The bathroom was OK with a small shower. There was a flat panel TV over the fireplace with satellite TV. There was also a fairly large fridge. Parking is available on-site but it's a tight parking lot, but you can leave your car there and walk to just about anywhere downtown--shops and restaurants are plentiful. The quality of the furniture and upkeep of the room was very good but there was no comfortable sitting area. Our room was on the second floor but I did not see an elevator.

The main building has a room for a continental breakfast but you can do better around town.

Overall a place worth staying at.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed just a Saturday night in January. From the moment we stepped through the front door, we were charmed.The location is perfect, the room was comfortable, the lighting reasonable and Internet access excellent. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we had got a very good rate and the value was outstanding.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — bathroom was a little small
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CrunchSolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We stay at the Essex Street Inn each year when we visit Newburyport - we love it. If you're looking for a modern place to stay, this is not the inn for you. It does offer the quaint charm of a family-owned inn, and the staff is wonderful. Very accomodating and genuine. The location can't be beat - you can walk everywhere! My recommendation is to book a room with a gas fireplace - there is nothing like turning it on and relaxing after a busy day in Newburyport.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank APicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, MA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

First of all, they advertise parking... we parked 2 blocks away because there wasn't any. My husband and I walked into Room 201. The 2 double beds were squeeky and uncomfortable to just sit on. They looked like they were made for children. This room made me feel depressed. The bathroom was old and very small. There were no closets at all, just hooks on the wall to hang I don't know what. My coat kept falling off.

The heating element on the wall was brown and disgusting. It made me want to run...which is what we did after dinner. We just checked right out. Our biggest regret was that my husbands company paid for this room.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank susanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Rooms Reviews
We had a great stay at Essex Street. It was the perfect location. This review will only contain information on the actual Rooms. I’ll write an additional review on the overall hotel so it’s not so lengthy. I was able to spend time in the two elegant rooms and the deluxe rooms.

If I had to choose between all of the below I’d choose the Elegant Queen again!

Elegant Room – King Bed (#104) –see picture on their website essexstreetinn.com
(location: main building / in between the renovated building and corporate building / 1st floor)

Both of the elegant rooms are Very Very spacious with high ceilings, with a large poster bed, more traditional and not quite as up to date as some of the renovated rooms but very charming and much more open than the deluxe rooms. Both elegant rooms also have two sinks. One sink in the bath and one in the main living area. The King bed / #104 was extremely firm, which is great for those with a bad back. Those who like a slightly softer bed may want to try the elegant, Queen Bed #103. There is plenty of sunlight coming through the large windows. The rooms face the back parking lot. With the tall inner shutters you don’t even see the parking lot unless you go up to the window and peer out over them. Both rooms are on the first floor next to the office. Despite the close proximity to the office and breakfast area, it was very quiet. It was also very convenient to quickly grab some breakfast.

Cons: The gas fire place in the elegant rooms is never completely off (just really low) so you have to keep your air condition on to keep the room from getting too hot. It’s an easy fix and well worth it to stay in one of these beautiful rooms. The mirrors in King/#104 were quite small (except in the bathroom) compared to the Queen/#103 room. Some of the mirrors in King/#104 are also high so if you’re less than 5’5, you may struggle a bit to see. It could also use a bit more light. It was difficult for my mom to see to apply makeup in the morning. There isn’t a refrigerator in the elegant rooms but there are refrigerators in the less expensive deluxe rooms. I would have liked to see some sort of table to eat at in the room. Instead there is a very nice over sized chair in the corner. There were plenty of tables just a few steps outside of our door but sometimes I just want privacy. The in room televisions are very small (maybe 26 in)when looking across the large elegant rooms to view.

Elegant Room – Queen Bed (#103) * This was my favorite of the rooms I was in.* (main building / in between the renovated building and corporate building / 1st floor)

This room is pretty identical to the elegant –king but with a few more pluses (see above for basic description) The two elegant rooms are separated by the office/breakfast area. I found the over all layout of the Queen room to be more functional, the mirrors were larger and the bed was perfectly comfortable – not too hard. We loved the bed. If you have the option of choosing the elegant King or Queen – I’d choose the Queen unless you absolutely want a king bed.

Deluxe Rooms - Queen Beds (#321 and #311)
(location: adjacent to the main building room 321 second floor / room 311 directly below on first floor)
The deluxe rooms are more updated but to me, lacked the charm of the elegant rooms. They were less spacious/open but had some great amenities and were still a nice size. These rooms have a microwave and good size mini refrigerator along with what appears to be a nice long granite countertop. One of the rooms has carpet (321) and one has nice wood floors (311). Overall a great value. You will have to leave this building to get breakfast and to use the gym. Breakfast is directly next door in the main building and the gym is 2 houses down, just on the otherside of the main building.

I'll be writting an additional review on the other aspects of the hotel soon. Stay tuned...

  • Liked — Great location to come back from a long day and just wonder to local restaurants/bars
  • Disliked — expensive/breakfast could include more variety - too many carb options. They should also have nuts/protein options
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fotovisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
428 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
3.4 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
16 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Property: Essex Street Inn & Suites
Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Newburyport, the Essex Street Inn provides charming and comfortable accommodations for business travelers and those fun get-aways. The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access. A lovely breakfast room offers fresh teas and coffees around the clock, continental breakfast, and the morning paper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Inn And Suites
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
The Essex Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing