We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite hotel BY FAR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex Street Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Our favorite hotel BY FAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Comfortable, quiet, subdued yet well-appointed the Inn gave us a perfect getaway; the room was beautiful, one of their best with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The pillow-top bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in, from the Waldorf to the Taj Palace Hotel in Mumbai. The location is great; Newburyport is a charming, picturesque town with boutique shops and at least 10 restaurants within 200 paces of the Essex. Off-street parking. Great hotel, highly recommended, we will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klonkoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    94
    47
    7
    15
See reviews for
51
172
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Beautiful, quiet inn that's truly steps away from all the shops and restaurants of Newburyport. The staff was warm and friendly. We felt right at home. The entire inn was very clean and well maintained. We had a really fun, relaxing stay, and enjoyed the cozy breakfast room. It was nice having the magazines and newspapers available to guests. We really appreciated being able to checkout one hour later than usual, as it was snowy and cold that day!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirl153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Secluded feeling b&b up in Newburyport, didn't hurt to have the 2 floor honeymoon suite. Kathy was super nice and accomodating. Ample parking and right down by all the action on State Street and Market Square. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I only wish we had a few more pillows, but I didn't think to ask while checking in, I'm sure they would have given us more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infoessexstreetinn, Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for your outstanding review. We are glad you had a great time in Newburyport and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest.
I have been with the Inn for almost 6 years and one of the best things I enjoy about my job is making our guests happy from the moment they walk through our doors until they depart.
You are correct in that had you asked for extra pillows we would have accomidated you.
We look forward to seeing you and having you as our guest again!
Hope to see you soon,
Best,
Kathy Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

We are a manufacturer in Newburyport that has numerous visits from out clients and suppliers. We use the "Inn" on a regular basis,our clients and visitors are very pleased with the services and they love the location, it can't be beaten.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnippes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were staying for a wedding, and were very happy with the room overall. A little noisy as it was right next to the front desk, but otherwise, we had a great stay at the Inn and would go back.!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashuaSueRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

You can walk out your room and be in the downtown area right away. It's a far better choice than paying the same amount for a brand name hotel in Amesbury or Seabrook. The room must have been recently renovated as the paint, floors and bathroom were in tip top shape. We had a room on the first floor, and it was surprisingly quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Plum Island is only a short drive, and the inn has one off-street parking space for each room which is very convenient. Our only issues with the room - there was a pedestal sink in our bathroom with not much space to put toiletry items. And the satellite TV was difficult to operate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gparch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a night this Summer and we were SHOCKED at how gorgeous this Inn was for the price. We stay at Bed & Breakfasts often and rarely such a nice place - so close to a town center, attractions, great restaurants, etc. - for the price.

We stayed in a Standard Room which seemed to be newly updated, clean, and quiet modern. As soon as we entered the room we LOVED to find the air conditioning running and a survey on our bed asking - right from the start - to evaluate our stay and share any concerns.

The staff was curtious, there was parking on site, and it look us about 1 block to be in the center of it all.

I highly recommend staying here for a night or a whole month!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadden1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
18.4 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Street Inn & Suites

Property: Essex Street Inn & Suites
Address: 7 Essex St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Newburyport, the Essex Street Inn provides charming and comfortable accommodations for business travelers and those fun get-aways. The Inn is only steps away from casual and elegant dining, the famous waterfront, arts and cultural events, fine and funky stores, and the finest antique shops. The Inn contains 38 beautifully appointed rooms and suites all wired for high speed internet access. A lovely breakfast room offers fresh teas and coffees around the clock, continental breakfast, and the morning paper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Essex Street Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Street Hotel Newburyport
Essex Street Inn And Suites
The Essex Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing