We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, great hospitality!”
Review of Compass Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Compass Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Newburyport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Compass Rose inn for a wedding in the area. The innkeeper, Gloria, was very hospitable and friendly. She allowed the bridal party to take over the living room area to get ready - which couldn't have been a more perfect setting! She also had great breakfasts available, as well as coffee and snacks throughout the day.

The inn itself is gorgeous. Each of the rooms had a sitting area with a fireplace, a bedroom with a large king bed, and a large bathroom. Outside the bathroom was a dressing area, which also had a small refrigerator and sink. All amenities were updated and high-quality (we even had to ask what kind of mattresses they used, since they were so comfortable!).
I would highly recommend a trip to the Compass Rose Inn - even if just to explore Newburyport!

Be sure to check out the 4th floor - a small cupola with a table and chairs and a 360 degree view of the town.

Room Tip: Room 5 was beautiful It was on the third floor and the color scheme was very peaceful!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRFTPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Compass Rose Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

We discovered the Compass Rose the same day we discovered Newburyport, and loved both. We are picky travellers and value privacy, great food and special service - and we got all three at this charming, quiet spot. The breakfasts were excellent, the bed was very comfortable and the hosts gave us great suggestions on local restaurants. We were lucky to find it and hope to get back to this gem of a place one day. The other people staying there were return visitors and we understand why!

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites, and ours was on the second floor, quiet and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is our second stay in 3 years at the Compass Rose and I hate to review this property because for the second time in a row, we couldn't speak more highly about a place to stay in New England. We find this Inn to be one of our favorite haunts and feel it is one of the well kept secrets in New England and we hate to see it fill up so that we can't make reservations. Compass Rose Inn is clean, comfortable, relaxing and close to all sorts of Historical Newburyport shopping. The rooms are nice size and the Innkeepers couldn't be more friendly or helpful. They will do anything to make sure your stay is fantastic. Most rooms have fireplaces and breakfasts are well done (comes with the price of your room). As Inns go, there are few rooms and the environment is quaint. The Compass Rose is recent New England style 18th century appearance with none of the details left out. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the third floor as they seem to be very quiet and the view is generally good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philfromdayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Long Newburyport's most elegant and spacious accommodations, the Compass Rose Inn has gotten even better w/ the arrival of Gloria, a professional in-residence (with her husband Kevin) inn-keeper. Gloria's delicious breakfasts have added the perfect touch to an always intriguing gathering of sophisticated international travelers around a formal dining table. A stay at the Compass Rose is a destination in itself.

Room Tip: Reserve early!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Compass Rose Inn. How wonderful can a place be? It's centrally located in Newburyport, so that you can walk to all the great restaurants and stores. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. So charming. Breakfast is a feast each morning thanks to a fabulous manager. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Outside and in, the Inn appears to be a recently renovated historic building, holding its own with the many beautiful 18th century homes. But it was actually built new in 2004 to the highest standards. The result is an 'historic' Inn with all the modern facilities any 21st century traveler could want. And the setting, the decor, and the hospitality make one feel like a guest in the home of a wealthy sea captain! It was early October, but a chilly morning, so there was a fire lit in the main living room. Welcoming Innkeeper and an owner, both available each morning of our four-day weekend stay. And genuinely interested in helping their guests in anyway to optimize their Newburyport visit. (In our case, my wife needed the urgent attention of an ophthalmologist, and this was Friday morning! The owner personally got on the phone and secured an appointment that day with a Wills Hospital trained physician.) One needs to book well in advance because this is a small and understandably popular destination.

Room Tip: All rooms essentially the same and suites; so preference is more linked to which floor one prefers...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a very beautiful inn with spacious three room suites. There are fireplaces in the sitting area in your suite which would make a winter stay delightful. It is located in the heart of downtown Newburyport so it is very easy to walk everywhere. The innkeepers and the owner are delightful. In the morning you get a delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend this inn if you want a quiet and romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but if you do not like stairs choose the room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkkack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.1 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
18 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Inn

Address: 5 1/2 Center St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range: $221 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Newburyport, you'll find a hidden treasure called Compass Rose. This sophisticated all-suite Inn offers you the opportunity to relax and experience the character and historic charm of a picturesque New England town. Compass Rose is a newly constructed Federal style mansion incorporating period ambiance with state of the art comfort and safety. Our spacious accommodations include five elegant three-room suites; each with a fire placed sitting room, bedroom with king sized bed and a luxurious private bath and a dressing alcove. We offer a convenient first floor suite for our visitors who prefer not to use stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Compass Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Rose Hotel Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing