We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Not Your Average Joe's - CLOSED

Not Your Average Joe's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Branford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unfortunately average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We weren't wild about the food, but we were impressed with the table service and with the responsive management, who encouraged us to be honest in our opinion of our meal and deducted one of the items from our bill that wasn't up to par. Joes gets an 'A' for effort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2Entre-nous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    81
    41
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fresh and new ideas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I like that they send me a FREE Birthday and Dessert every year! I have not disliked anything yet! We go all of the time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mindprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent the day walking around the Newburyport waterfront on Sept 1st. We hadn't been there in many years and was surprised to see the restoration of the area. We had skipped lunch and by late afternoon decided to try NYAJ'S. Despite looking very busy we were seated right away. My herb encrusted haddock dinner was excellent. The other dinners ordered were excellent as well. Our waitress was always checking on us but never rushed us. They have several other locations in MA. I highly recommend them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Runner60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice setting, really good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I always thought this place was a burger/pub type food. It's not. You can get a burger, but the menu has a great variety of food from salads, sandwiches, and entrees. My salad was fresh, service was good even though it was very busy. We really enjoyed the outdoor seating. Their garlic dip for bread is amazing. I asked for a gluten free menu and I got a gluten free roll with seperate dipping sauce to avoid cross contamination of my friends bread crumbs :) Nice touch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mycornerisne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place has a perfect, comprehensive menu on which anyone can find something they enjoy. I, for one, am obsessed with their waldorf salad. I especially like that I have the option to order a half portion, because I do not eat large portions. They have yummy beers on tap as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dmbfan322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing