We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and quick”

Angie's Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good and quick”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went for breakfast. The food is traditional breakfast fare. The service was quick and the food was good. The restaurant was clean. The price was reasonable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank fcorriveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special, but OK diner food”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've been to Angie's a couple of times for breakfast. It's servicable...nothing objectionable. And if you keep your order simple, or stick to the specials, it can be easy on the budget.

But somehow, I'm always a bit disappointed, Their menu is simple, typical diner food. And it's not bad. But somehow, I always leave thinking it could have been better, or wishing I'd eaten somewhere else. (I've been to other diners that leave me craving their food, but I've never had a craving for anything I've had at Angie's. I guess if I'm splurging calories for hash browns or pancakes & syrup, I want it to be worth the splurge)

The service is pleasant, the coffee is hot, but....the pancakes and eggs tend to be tough, (If you listen carefully while you're waiting for breakfast, you can actually hear the grill cooks overbeating both the batters and the eggs...it's almost musical, like a percussion section and seems like they've raised it to an artform, so, no wonder)

So, I guess I'd say: keep your order simple, don't expect anything fancy and Angie's won't disappoint. And don't be put off by the weekend morning crowds, because things move pretty quickly.

Oh, and be sure to look around, and wander toward the restrooms and check out Richdales (connected in the back...it's a corner store with everything ...and I mean everything...in stock) the decor, wall art at Angies and layout are unique and worth taking in.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the run”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We like Angie's for the diner-type atmosphere, friendly service & historical photos of Newburyport. It's a great place to stop on your way out of town after vacationing here. They even have REAL maple syrup! : )

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
“Over priced”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I couldn't believe it. You pay the same prices you would pay at the 99 or applebee's for coffee shop food. There's nothing special about this place except it's a high priced breakfeast joint. A pastami and fries $8.99 rediculous.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mediocre!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is a diner and I wasn't really impressed with the food. I guess I thought for Newburyport and the price I paid, I would have been served a better quality meal. The omelet was very dry and tasteless although plenty. Our server was ok but she seemed like she would rather have been anywhere but serving us. The only highlight was the nice older woman who was at the register! Won't be going back again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enzalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angie's Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Angie's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing