We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess was appallingly rude!”

Agave Mexican Bistro
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Newbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hostess was appallingly rude!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are local and have been going to Agave for years. The food is great and both the margaritas and sangria are the best in the area. Until now I have never had a complaint. My family went for dinner this past weekend and found the hostess to be EXTREMELY rude! She never greeted us or even smiled when we walked in. When we said 5 for dinner she said "Well it is going to be at least 15 to 20 minutes." in a tone I could only call obnoxious. We said we would wait but I honestly thought about walking out. My husband walked up to check the second floor just out of curiosity and she immediately grabbed menus, went up behind him and set our table. There were plenty of open tables upstairs. When we left she managed to offer a quick smile but never said anything to us as we walked by. I don't know why she acted this way but we tend to eat out quite a bit and her attitude will make me second guess choosing Agave the next time. Customer service is key to the success of any business. I personally would never want this hostess to be the face greeting my customers or representing my company.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    102
    55
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, excellent Tequila selections”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great food and atmosphere. They have numerous tequila selections and a tequila bar. Restaurant is 3 floors. Try a tequila flight if you go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican on the North Shore”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hands down the best Mexican restaurant on the North Shore. First of all, their margaritas are incredible. The Pink Cadillac Margarita is especially delicious, and the Red Cactus Marg is great for those who like a little sweeter drink.

The chips and salsa are made fresh on-site and they are great. The food is fantastic, specifically the Chile Relleno and anything with their homemade mole sauce. Emilio's Pasta is to die for, and their Chicken Tinga Tacos or Quesadilla are also a great choice. All of these are consistently brought by smiling faces. The staff makes this place truly great. Huge shout outs to Shannon, Jason, Jeremy and Jessica for their excellent service and tradition of treating regulars like family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HikingBikingDude89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in area. Even dishes for Vegans!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great location in "downtown" Newburyport with a public metered parking lot nearby. There are three levels with a bar on the first floor and dining on the second. They have specialty drinks as well as the regular beverages. Drinks are very good and reasonably priced. Guacamole is fresh and made to order tableside. Nice variety on the menu. We found it to be the best mexican we have had in the area. We had two Vegans in our party and they were pleased with their meal as well. They have been there several times. Looking forward to returning so we can try other items from the menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FailSafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been here a few times over the years, most recently in late October. The food has always been great, the service is good, the portions are generous, and the prices are reasonable for the food. Atmosphere is nice too. Enjoyed by young and old alike.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REVHarpswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Mexican Bistro also viewed

 
Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Agave Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing