We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good seafood, over-thought”
Review of Brine

Brine
Reserve with OpenTable
Brine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Essex St.
Description: Welcome To Brine! Newburyport's First Oyster, Crudo and Chop Bar! We have differant oysters available each and every day, the freshest seafood selections, and prime beef selections from the butcher. Enjoy live shucking behind our bar as well as intriguing seafood preparations created daily by our Chefs. Brine serves dinner until 10:30pm Monday- Wednesday, and 11:45pm Thursday- Sunday. We are also open for lunch Saturday & Sundays 12:00-4:00pm. The interior is beautifully decorated with notes of stainless steel and a beautiful marble bar as the focal point. Come enjoy a delicious meal with us at the bar or a table and relax a bit, in our fun, upbeat cozy spot right in the center of State Street!
Newton, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good seafood, over-thought”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Loved the feel of the restaurant - fun, hip. Oysters were truly fantastic and they had a bunch of really good options. I felt they could have let the fish speak for itself a bit more - the tuna was really busy. We had a great night and the food that was served really tasted fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scfitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    71
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just ordinary”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading the great reviews we were ready for an exceptional meal. What a letdown. The atmosphere was pleasant and cozy, service was good,but the food disappointing. Fish tacos were bland and the salad, although of generous size, was tasteless. The scallops were only OK with too many garnishes and confusing flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gugi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Seafood , par excellence!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent oysters!!!

8oz filet - succulent even if well done - that is my dates meal

Chilled watercress

Kalama oyster - excellent

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phmgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ocean fresh seafood with great service and staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stopped at Brine during the 2013 Yankee homecoming. We had some drinks, some very delicious oysters and an unbelievable Lobster BLT. We had a child in a stroller and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal here. My wife came here before with friends and brought me for dinner. The food is excellent...great ingredients and expertly prepared. We started with the mizuna salad and shrimp cocktail. I normally wouldn't order shrimp cocktail, but the shrimp looked so great I went ahead and ordered them. They were exceptional...super fresh and a light starter for a warm summer night. We had the specials for entrees which, this evening, were seared halibut and chicken ballotine. Again, chicken can be very boring in most restaurants, but ballotine is a time intensive preparation and is a classic French technique so I gave it a try. It was perfectly executed and absolutely delicious. Same for the halibut. Also, even though it was busy, our server Alana and the chef gladly accommodated my wife's dietary restrictions by substituting some ingredients on her entree. The service was very good and we were well cared for. Not sure about the critical reviews of the service...we eat out a lot and I didn't get a pretentious vibe from the staff at all. Quite the opposite in fact. Alana was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and FUN. This place has great energy and a very comfortable vibe, in addition to an outstanding Chef. This was city food that I would be happy to be served in Manhattan. If you prefer huge portions and doggie bags, head to The Grog. If you want a really nice meal in a casual setting, this is a winner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brine also viewed

 

Been to Brine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing