We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, homey breakfast!”

17 State Street Cafe
Ranked #38 of 96 Restaurants in Newburyport
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
268 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great, homey breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

delicious omelettes with farm fresh produce and lots of cheese! Nothing frozen, and no skinny diner omelette! The bread is home made, fat and delicious! Even the homefries were tasty! We just happened to go on the 17th of the month in which our cup of coffee was only 17 cents! Wow, and it was in a great mug. We also shared a figure eight danish, (my husband is a self proclaimed expert) and it was fresh, and melt in your mouth yummy! Definitely a great place to return to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    8
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I used to live in Newburyport and was saddened by the loss of a city landmark, Fowles. However I love 17 State Street Cafe. It reminds me of Fowles while having much better food. Love the sandwiches with home made bread and the onion rings ware very tasty. Our waitress was very nice and attentive without being pushy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Keeping an open mind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner and drinks with a few friends while we listened to some live music. Bloody Mary's were great. My friends loved their burgers. I had a grilled pizza that was OK at best. Sat at the counter, which was fine while eating, but it did a number on our backs while we enjoyed the show. I would definitely give it another shot for dinner based on the fun we had. Breakfast is reportedly their best meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“not a dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

It was just breakfast but we would have liked to have a dining experience. That was not to be. Do not sit in the back booths because that is where the waitresses fold the napkins and silverware and grab a quick bite to eat. Between the loud music and the waitresses talking and doing their side work we were completely annoyed. That being said the food and service were very good. Surely there is someplace the waitresses could gather besides the table across from paying customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zzreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in Newburyport for a Starbucks on our way back up to NH. The baristas at Starbucks pointed us to 17 State Street when we inquired about a good local breakfast spot. Don't read the old reviews here, this place is delightful! Friendly waitstaff, delicious food. Try the Breakfast Tostada . . . I love that they preserved the history of the local business previously located here, Fowle's. A lively and friendly breakfast spot that will not disappoint!

Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17 State Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 17 State Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing