We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and tasteful.”
Review of Enzo Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Enzo Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Enzo Restaurant & Bar, our food is inspired by the rustic dishes found in the trattorias of Northern Italy. We use that inspiration to create seasonal menus that combine the best local ingredients and traditional New England recipes with those Italian flavors. At our bar, you’ll find a tempting offering of house cocktails and marvelous wines by the glass, but more importantly, you’ll find a warm welcome and great conversation!
Europe
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant and tasteful.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

There are a lot of pros about Enzo's...

Easy parking at the Tannery and a relatively small menu were the two initial factors that made us choose it for a relaxing dinner.

The atmosphere is very pleasant, clean lines and candle light. The service friendly and certainly our server (Vanessa) was great.

The wine list is not extensive and it has some good choices. Cocktails and spirits are also available. The environmentally friendly take is definitely a big plus and much appreciated, when every little bit counts. The food is selected from relatively local growers and seafood providers.

Another plus is that on they offer a gluten free menu (desserts included) and they do not charge more for this like other local restaurants.

The food was very good. We shared the mushroom polenta for appetizer and had the lobster linguine and lobster polenta (from the gf menu).

If you are looking for the standard "Italian-American" (or "American-Italian"?) food selection, then better look for another option. The food here is a little bit more refined and contemporary.

I would say the only minuses were that the prices were a bit high for the product, throughout the board... (and a minor observation from .. the linguine should actually be called tagliatelle given the cut of the pasta :-)

Overall a pleasant and tasteful dinner in Newburyport.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurasian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great town, great restaurant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I have gone to Boston's North Shore for years. Newburyport is a seriously beautiful eighteenth century, unspoiled town forty-five minutes north of Boston and ENZO is certainly one of the best restaurants there, or anywhere. The menu is very imaginative and delicious. It's basically Northern Italian fare and we'd recommend small portions of a number of servings and that you have any of the deserts. The service has always been perfect - professional without fawning and the atmosphere parallels that. It's in a very attractive old mill building, The Tannery, filled with very good clothing and furniture stores and a great bookstore. A dinner for two at ENZO - including two glasses of wine and coffee and desert - comes to about $ 120.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vicill47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great..”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was not happy, food was fine, but its so small and there wasnt an atmosphere. Didnt have basic martinis.. we almost left but decided to sta y and try the food. Crazy prices for what I would consider do it yourself basics. Also seemed earth friendly by providing filtered water v's bottled however they print menus daily and also use paper as a placemat.. meh overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in newburyport”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Really is the best, great atmosphere, drinks, food. Can't go wrong. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. I think the food is better than Ceia in Newburyport. Really the only good restaurants in newburyport are Enzo, Loretta's, Black Cow and perhaps Oregeno's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinWyman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“High Hopes Dashed”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a residents of Cape Ann, Newburyport is generally not our first choice
for dining...not because it lacks an array of fine restaurants, but because
it takes the same time to get to Boston where the restaurant scene is truly
exciting. However, after having read recent reviews, friends and I decided
not to be so parochial. Several weeks ago, I sampled Ceia with another
friend (maybe because my review seemed to be ghost written by a clever
insider or because I broke a secret rule, tripadvisor has not yet published
the five-star review). Last night was Enzo's turn. Being buoyed by its
rating as #2 in N'port our group arrived with empty stomachs, dry tongues,
and lots of optimism.

Our hopes were soon dashed. Being a bit early for our reservation, we heeded
the manager/maitre d's suggestion and went to the bar at the end of the
comfortable, N'port style dining room (high ceiling with exposed wood-plank
sub-floor above, large windows and airy space). We stood in front of two
empty bar stools and watched the bar tender, without eye contact, for about
ten minutes. After patience ran thin, we noticed our table was ready and
asked a waitress if we could seat ourselves. At the table, still without
drinks, we were poured water from a pitcher without a chance to ask for
sparkling (odd for an Italian restaurant!). After nursing our waters, we
were able to catch the attention of a waitress (not ours) and asked if we
could order drinks. She retrieved our waitress (who had now, apparently,
marked us as grousers) and that began our own downhill slide. When my
Negroni finally arrived it seemed like Enzo's was long on Compari and short
on gin!

Appetizers were bruschetta with a curious topping and potobello mushrooms on
polenta. The former was original, properly crunchy and flavorful. The latter
was bland and unmemorable (would have been much better if the hot
cereal-style polenta had been grilled).

I often remark that grilled chicken and Bolognese are each good litmus paper
for restaurants. When I saw the Bolognese on the menu (with an enticing
description), my mind was made up. Unfortunately, when our waitress
eventually returned to take our order, my request was met with "The last
order was just served. I should have told you half an hour ago that we had
one order left.". So much for the litmus test! Two of us opted for the
lasagna with sausage and one sampled the hangar steak (she was the winner).
A recent tripadvisor reviewer had raved about the lasagna. I wouldn't.
Although flavorful and fully-consumed by me, it was so soupy that it was
served in a bowl.

Fortunately we found a perfectly blended Tuscan red on the well-rounded and
well-priced wine list which brought smiles to our faces.

Ultimately, the desserts were the big hits and left us on a higher note.

However, for me, Boston is a lot closer than Enzo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnisquamAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enzo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing