We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is tasty, but not exactly Gluten free”
Review of Loretta - MOVED

Loretta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food is tasty, but not exactly Gluten free”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I joined a friend for lunch and we had a lovely meal. The food and waitstaff were very good. However, I have a gluten allergy, and there were very few options for me. I ended up with the pulled pork on a salad instead of as a sandwich. Again, the pork was delicious, but it isn't that hard these days to find good gluten free rolls, bread, and even wraps. It only takes a little effort to add something truly gluten free to the menu. I'll save my 5 stars for those restaurants that go the extra mile for us folks with allergies.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    80
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Late night dinner and a comfy window seat”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place was suggested to us and we happened to find it late night. We shared a great salad with salmon. The salad was a char-grilled romain and it added a nice burst of flavor to the perfectly seasoned and grilled salmon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

we walked around Newburyport(always pleasant) looking at menus and settled on Loretta's. It had the feel of a nice spot and an interesting menu with reasonable prices. We were not disappointed and would return. My wife tends to like to order mussels and they were superb(contrary to her mussels at another Newburyport spot...see other review, which were bland). We look forward to returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryT421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best bet on State street for a quick supper before moving on”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

When seeing a film at the Screening Room we like to have a quick but tasty supper before hand with a relative who lives in Newburyport. But where to go? We have tried many of the restaurants and experienced some of the staff and kitchen problems noted in TripAdvisor reviews. Last nigth we tried someplace new and were delighted. Loretta serves sophisticated cafe food and does so with positive attitude and great skill. Mussels or crab cakes or salad appetizers are perfect to mix and match and share. The wine list is short but skillfully created and boy the wait staff do it right (at least the talented Gissele), offering a taste and a careful look at the bottle. No hocus pocus here. Most bottles are also offered by the glass so you can always come out even. We will return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a excellent dinner and Loretta met every expectation. The perfectly cooked meal was complimented by the friendly and efficient staff. The dinner will be a highlight of our visit to Newburyport.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marshall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing