We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to call a home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to call a home away from home!”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

From the time of my arrival until my departure, I found my stay at the Garrison Inn extraordinary. The room was immaculate and fully stocked, the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate, and the staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. It is a lovely destination, and I would not think twice about staying at the property again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latin-Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    76
    34
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
219
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We love coming here because we can park the car and then enjoy a nice stroll to the shops and resturants.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_Shop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Every year, friends and I go away for a weekend to celebrate birthdays and do some holiday shopping. This was our third year traveling to Newburyport and participating in the Holiday Shopping Weekend. The inn where we usually stay was unavailable but we were very happy at the Garrison Inn! The rooom was spacious, great location, staff was personable and friendly. We loved the continental breakfast! We never made it to the exercise gym but there is a ftiness center available across the street and with a pool. This will definitely be our first choice in the future!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I travel a lot on business an have stayed in many hotels over the years I would deffinately recommend this to any traveler looking for an interesting place with tangible services and historical and hip character. In particular I enjoyed the large lap pool and the the proxmity to downtown as there are lots of restaurant choices in the area. I plan on returning with my wife and kids this summer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingGuy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I have stayed at other inns in Newburyport and I have finally found where I belong. Lovely staff, service, atmosphere and quite a suprise to have such variety offered at their free breakfast. Beautiful room and super quiet location. I didn't want to leave and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsIndependant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband and I have been coming to the Garrison Inn for about 8 years. I suspect there has been a management change because things are on going downhill fast at this Inn. Service used to be great . . . now the front desk is manned by clueless and/or surly folks who absolutely hate to have their texting or net surfing interrupted to deal with a question or problem. Also, unfortunately our room (all rooms??) are clearly only given minimal cleaning. Anything that is slightly above eye level is dusty and dirty, debris can be found under cushions (2 almonds, candy wrappers, etc.) and beds. The not-very-firm mattress squeaked, the shower was dismal, drawer pulls were missing from drawers, etc. etc. Finally, I travel on business quite a bit and this is the first time I was charged a "cancellation fee" when I cancelled and re-booked 3 weeks prior to my stay. Plus, beware of the "Guest Service Fee," a $42 add-on which is not quoted as part of the regular rate + taxes. I love Newburyport and I used to love The Garrison Inn but there are many other inns in town which are hopefully charming yet clean and staffed by people who actually want to help you. A major disappointment this time. We won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Garrison Inn is a a great getaway inn. It was cozy, but also very private. The rooms were clean and well furnished. I stayed in the Federal room which had two full size beds. The beds were clean but were showing signs of aging . The bathroom was very small but functioned well. The free breakfast was very pleasant, not overwhelming.

Newburyport is a great town. The shops, restaurants and bakeries make for a fun weekend. Newburyport is just the place to escape to for a weekend. I visited on Witches' weekend, the weekend before Halloween, most of the shops stay open until 9 PM and serve refreshments. A fun weekend to visit.!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
358 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
123 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
521 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
13 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#4 of 41 in Hampton
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: 11 Brown Sq, Newburyport, MA 01950-2513
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Newburyport the historical GARRISON INN Boutique Hotel stands as an icon of modern glamour and timeless elegance, providing an exceptional experience for discerning travelers. As a true luxury boutique hotel, we provide unparalleled amenities and distinguished personal services with a highly focused attention to detail. Set in the heart of Newburyport's historic city center, we are an established, downtown Landmark Hotel known around the world for our rich historic character, impeccable service, and urban sophistication. Come discover the many special touches that set us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Boutique
Garrison Inn Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing