We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue - Inn on the Beach(Plum Island)(Great Value!)
$329
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
303
81
34
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
81
34
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade to order breakfastexposed brickcomplimentary breakfastcorner roomeggs benedicttea cupstea servicegrand parkwithin walking distancehistoric buildingnew englanddowntown newburyportroom was largecaviarbreakfast sandwichshops and restaurantsfree parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 448 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location to stroll and shop during the day, then wine and dine in the evening. Lots of fun to grab a night cap in David's Tavern and listen to live music. Take the elevator from there up to your very comfortable room, grab a plush guest bath robe and rest your head at night. Wake up to a delicious fresh made breakfast.My favorite was yogurt with fresh fruit and the Asian omelet, yum! This visit was not our first and will definitely not be our last!

Room Tip: king size room looking out front of inn, recommened
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting Newburyport. The hotel is in great location - within short walking distance to shops, restaurants, parks, etc. We stayed in a king corner studio which was quite spacious. The room was a mix of modern furnishings and period details. We liked the exposed brick and wall details, but the bed was unfortunately not very comfortable, and the bathroom was not updated. The shower itself made a loud screeching noise while in use. Our room was West facing, so it received a lot of sun later in the day which really heated up our room, putting a lot of pressure on the window AC unit. It took a while for the room to cool down, which made falling asleep a challenge. (Keep in mind it was only in the high 60s - low 70s outside.) Besides the temperature, the guests on the floor above us were creating a lot of noise walking around until late at night. I am not sure if this noise between floors persists throughout the entire hotel. We did hear that the breakfast was very good, but unfortunately, did not have time to partake.

We would stay here again, but would likely request a different room.

Room Tip: Our room had a refrigerator, which was great. However, it was located in the closet. We didn't know it was there until just before we we left the next morning. Bummer.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explorers377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This Inn is outstanding, for comfort, afternoon tea, exceptional breakfast, peace and quiet, great service and location. The room looks very modern with brand new furnishings. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: We got the simple room, quite spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I use the Garrison for WORK and family stays in town. On several occasions the hotel has changed the people I have put up there for cancelations regardless of the inns policy. I continue to have to follow up and demand the charges be reversed. This is unfortunate because the inn is located central to great restaurants, attractions and the harbor.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Get-away weekend to relax. As always the Garrison staff was delightful and the inn was top notch. Corner studio had more than enough room for two plus our large dog. Great breakfast in the morning and the location can't be beat. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews