We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in a perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked our reservation months before we arrived, "save the date" wedding invitation. We were given a few reccommendations on where to stay, we chose the Garrison Inn because of it's location. We had never been to the area and we were looking forward to being able to see the town on foot. Walking distance to the church and the reception was also in our plan.
When we arrived we knew we made the right choice. Casey (I believe I have her name correct) greeted us in a very welcoming manner. We requested a cot for our 11 yr. old daughter, the cot was delivered in a matter of minutes. The room was spacious and clean. We were in a corner room which basically overlooked the parking lot and side street, it was nice, quiet and the sun was shining oh so bright when we had the "shutter like" window treatments opened. The weather was picture perfect during our stay, what a quaint beautiful area. The complimentary breakfast each morning was excellent. Stew cooked our breakfast requests to order, he was very friendly and accommodating. Sunday morning many guests came down for breakfast, he handled the "crowd" wonderfully. We spotted him here and there throughout our stay, I am thinking he contributes more to the running of the Inn then feeding the hungry guests. We also visited Davids, again very friendly staff. We look forward to eating there next time we visit, the food we saw come out looked great! We definately would like to visit Newburyport again, loved the area. We would most definately stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 445 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, clean, and the service was outstanding. I loved the exposed brick in the room.I enjoyed it and will be returning for another visit. It is a short walk to downtown and the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Garrison Inn is an 1800's building renovated with a contemporary twist but keeping the 'classic' 1800's face. Rooms are spacious and very welcoming. Staff is outstanding and their delicious 'haute' breakfast is included. Afternoon tea/champagne and David's Tavern downstairs are the finishing touches!! Newburyport offers a little bit of everything and staying at the Garrison just makes it that much more special!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in three rooms, but they were all great! Bathrooms vary, but they are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCLE_BREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We only had one night at this lovely hotel unfortunately, as we were just passing through. Its great value for money. There is tea & coffee available in the lobby all day with a big selection of teas. The breakfast was delicious. The bed comfy & everything was very clean. We loved the exposed brickword. The town is very pretty with great shops. An ideal location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay; the staff and facility was great. Bathroom was weirdly out of place - 1960's versus the incredible room. ??? A/C was a little loud. There is no room safe and the contract housekeeping left the master key on top of their room service cart most of the day!
Breakfast was top notch and completely unexpected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful, good location for walking as close to downtown area but also close to interesting residential neighborhoods, breakfasts excellent and many choices. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights in a studio and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the hotel. We were in Room 305 which was to the rear of the property - very quiet. We found the staff to be most welcoming and cheerful. The decor of exposed brick wall coupled with the modern furnishings was right up my alley. The room had tub/shower combo which is always my preference. The complimentary and delicious daily breakfast was prepared by the most delightful chef. The location is perfect for walking to the shops, restaurants, waterfront, and even walking across the bridge to enjoy the bike/hike trail in Salisbury. This was our first visit to The Garrison Inn but since our daughter lives in Newburyport, I know we'll be enjoying the inn on upcoming visits as well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RoseDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
21 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
17.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: 11 Brown Sq, Newburyport, MA 01950-2513
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range: $233 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Newburyport the historical GARRISON INN Boutique Hotel stands as an icon of modern glamour and timeless elegance, providing an exceptional experience for discerning travelers. As a true luxury boutique hotel, we provide unparalleled amenities and distinguished personal services with a highly focused attention to detail. Set in the heart of Newburyport's historic city center, we are an established, downtown Landmark Hotel known around the world for our rich historic character, impeccable service, and urban sophistication. Come discover the many special touches that set us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Boutique
Garrison Inn Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing