We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue - Inn on the Beach(Plum Island)(Great Value!)
$429
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
304
82
34
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
82
34
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade to order breakfastexposed brickcomplimentary breakfastcorner roomeggs benedicttea cupstea servicegrand parkwithin walking distancehistoric buildingnew englanddowntown newburyportroom was largecaviarbreakfast sandwichshops and restaurantsfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 450 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Garrison Inn in July 2013 for a wedding. We got lucky and snagged one of the few parking spots available in the lot. The lobby is historic and check-in was really quick. We got a corner 2nd floor room and it was HUGE! The whole room was updated and modern with a boutique feel. The bed was comfortable and large and there was tons of floor space to invite others from our group to hang out. There is an iPod hookup/speakers and even a really nice vanity (not in the bathroom, which was great for getting ready if someone else was using the bathroom)! It's in the middle of town so very easy walking throughout town and to the water. After the wedding we attended was done we headed down to the bar on the bottom floor and since we were all staying at the hotel and not driving the bartender stayed as late as we wanted to keep the party going which was awesome! There is also a made to order breakfast included with the stay. Drinks were reasonably priced as well. Overall we had a really nice stay and I would absolutely recommend the Garrison Inn.

Room Tip: Our corner room at the end of the hall was very quiet and HUGE!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAISY00700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Garrison and we enjoyed it as much as our first. The Inn has unique, comfortable and relaxing accommodations. Our guest room this visit was the New Yorker and was a great blend of new and traditional; Very comfortable, clean and relaxing.
The staff is always more than accommodating. The breakfast chef can greet his guests with a hearty “good morning” in nine different languages. With the very diverse international guests at the inn, this provides yet another welcoming and hospitable touch.
The breakfast is very well prepared, fresh and delicious.
The location of the inn is ideal for exploring the history, shops and restaurants of Newburyport. They are all within a stroll of the Garrison Inn.

We are sure to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Garrison in November 2012 while in town for the All Women & One Lucky Guy Half Marathon. The inn is on the list of suggested lodging for race participants coming from out of town. The Garrison also boasts that guests can use the YMCA across the street for showers post-race. Well, the race started at 11, and the Y closes at noon on Sundays. You'd have to be a pretty darn fast runner to finish 13 miles, then get back to Y for a shower before noon! When we asked staff at the Garrison if we could come back around 1-1:30 to shower (i.e., late check out @ 2), they said yes -- for an additional $50!! This after we had already paid $250 for a very average room. Needless to say, we drove home to Vermont a little stinky.
Also, the breakfast - while very tasty - took forever. They are not equipped to serve a full dining room at once (and the room is not that big, by the way). There's one person cooking with a hot plate, toaster, and microwave. We were seriously getting worried about being at the start line on time because our breakfasts took so long to prepare, even though we got to the dining room by 8:30, 2.5 hours before the start.
While it is a nice hotel in a fabulous location, it is overpriced. And I definitely would NOT recommend the Garrison for anyone intending to run the half-marathon in November.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vermonter212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Over the phone they will quote a day or two cancellation policy for their overpriced $200 rooms. Be careful! I went to cancel my room a shade under 7 days before check in, and found out the next day that they charged me $250 for the cancellation! I might as well have kept the room and not shown up. Management was rude, condescending, and completely committed to weaseling every dollar out of their unsatisfied guests. 0 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldielax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying for a romantic weekend away. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the restaurants and shops are within walking distance.
The breakfast is good and the chef is very accommodating (I would recommend getting there early though).
Love the afternoon tea.
We will continue to stay at the Garrison!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews