We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty of an inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beauty of an inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night in a "Grand Park View" room. Absolutely beautiful -- while it only faces a tiny green spot (complete with statue of William Lloyd Garrison himself) the room was gorgeous. Corner room with big windows on two walls, tasteful antiques paired with modern, black, if a bit odd, bedroom furniture (looked sort of 90s Italian to me), great soothing color scheme and aesthetics on the more masculine side (happily free of frills). Luxurious roomy marble shower, great toiletries (Bulgari) as others have pointed out. Really the room felt like a restful retreat.

Small quibbles -- micro-level decisions made about the room furnishings erred on the side of being pleasing to the eye over functional -- but really, I mean this is small stuff. For instance, the shower lacks a shelf on which to place soap/shampoo -- I'm thinking probably to avoid interrupting the marble walls. No coffee maker in the room, but the coffee the inn offers is pretty awful, so that is a bit of an exercise in endurance trying to get ready for the day first thing in the morning.

Overall, absolutely would return, especially as the town was SOOOO pretty, and the Parker River Wildlife Refuge down the road a real treat the next day.

Room Tip: I recommend Enzo (a Northern Italian restaurant an easy walk from the Inn) if you understand and app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAHenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    76
    34
    20
    9
See reviews for
76
215
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
X
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A treasure. An inviting and tranquil spot. We loved the initial telephone service. Chris, who first booked our reservation, was kind and helpful. We'd never seen the city of Newburyport; Chris was knowledgable and kind. We were welcomed with an array of delectable and hi quality Harney tea...complimentary and inviting. Then beckoned by the history and coziness of the inn. The junior suite was a delight with complimentary champagne chilled and waiting due to to our anniversary. For a small fee, one can have rose petals strewn on the bed, with a lovely rose left on the pillow. The view was of steeple and the sea. The showers aren't made for two, so be aware if that's part of your romanic plan- and the pool isn't in the inn, but at the YWCA. Still, not our biggest concern. The decor is ecclectic. The bedding is clean and indulgent. The complimentary breakfast is indulgent and cooked to serve by the epitome of a New England cook; thorough and friendly. the eggs Benedict with caviar....wow! We loved the town and next time will treat ourselves to the lighthouse dining experience. We went in cold march...but we can't wait to go agin in summer.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow as these are a bit high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was recently caught in a snowstorm during my 60 mile commute home from work. I needed to get off the road and happened to get off 95 in Newburyport. I have stayed at the Garrison Inn before and loved it, so I immediately called the Inn and was delighted to find out that there was vacany (at midnight). Thank you Garrison Inn for providing a safe, clean, very comfortable place to stay during this late March storm.

The rooms are very spacious, well equipped with a HDTV, iHome iPod/iPhone dock, kingsize comforable bed with clean smelling sheet... the list goes on and on. I cannot say enough. I will always plan to stay here when visiting Newburyport. Its very conveniently placed downtown with an easy walk to the local attractions.

In my opinion, Garrison gets an A+ for their level of service, cleanliness, accomodations and overall value for the money spent.

In addition, I had a very friendly staff make me a "to go" delicious egg sandwich for the road! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: 201 is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spontaneously decided to stay at the Garrison Inn after a late movie in NBPT and excellent dinner at the Inn's restaurant. As we always enjoy the restaurant we hoped the Inn would also be a good choice. The Inn exceeded our high expectations. The building is the real thing - old, well preserved, atmospheric and very clean. Our room continued the vibe. We had an exposed brick wall in our room, very nice. The breakfast (included) next morning continued to surpass our expectations - very tasty and served in the elegant /comfortable tea room. The hotel staff's service was attentive and professional. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeezerVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved this hotel. It has a style of its own. We particularly like the bedroom, its decor and furniture. Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order with some interesting touches. The hotel is well placed for walking to shops, bars and restaurants in this very pretty town. The gym and pool is not in the hotel but just over the road in the YWCA. The bar wasn't open on the two nights we were there so can't comment on that. The hotel shares the building with a bar/restaurant which had live music on the Saturday night which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just spent one nite here, and it was fabulous and relaxing! The room was extremely comfortable, the bed was perfect! Front desk was accomodating, and the cup of tea in the pretty teacup was wonderful. The bar downstairs was friendly and fun. We walked to dinner and had a delicious meal at a new little italien place. Parking was easy.
Lastly the breakfast that was included was amazingly good. Cooked to order. Would cost $30 or more anywhere else.
THe room rate was cheap too!
We will go back!

Room Tip: We had a corner studio with a king bed which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clamdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great room, great staff, great town. Wonderfully helpful staff. Love the free breakfast. Modern styled room in a classic old Newburyport building. We didn't have to even use our car because downtown Newburyport is right there. Maudslay State Part is a beautiful spot to walk through, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack_P_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#2 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: 11 Brown Square, Newburyport, MA 01950
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Newburyport the historical GARRISON INN Boutique Hotel stands as an icon of modern glamour and timeless elegance, providing an exceptional experience for discerning travelers. As a true luxury boutique hotel, we provide unparalleled amenities and distinguished personal services with a highly focused attention to detail. Set in the heart of Newburyport's historic city center, we are an established, downtown Landmark Hotel known around the world for our rich historic character, impeccable service, and urban sophistication. Come discover the many special touches that set us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Boutique
Garrison Inn Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing