We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”
Review of David's Tavern - CLOSED

David's Tavern
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Went out to see the town and ended up here at the end of the night. Really nice people and the decor was awesome. We only had some drinks and an appetizer but both were good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Golgo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Averill Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“7 apps for $7? Oh my!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Upon a recommendation my husband and I dined here on a recent Sunday evening. It was with great delight that we did. This gem is located in the historic Garrison Inn. That alone makes it worth the trip, but the comfy tavern downstairs from the dining room must be tried. Yes they do have 7 apps for $7 beginning at 5pm, but the problem was deciding which three we would try. We chose well as they were delicious. Our waitress was very pleasant and made wonderful cocktails, too. We would certainly stop in again when in the Newburyport area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed David's place. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was wonderful. The friendly staff and the music topped off our experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy, Little Pub Offers Alternative To Busy Summer Waterfront Scene”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

When I first moved to the Newburyport area last summer, I was looking forward to enjoying the waterfront deck restaurants and cocktail spots around town. However, I soon found that they are often early crowded with early 20-somethings looking to party and dance in the summertime. I soon sought another venue with a bit more reserved and adult atmosphere. David's Tavern, located downstairs in The Garrison Inn, only a few short blocks away, is such a place. The owner/executive chef Steve and legendary local bartender George do everything they can to make you feel welcome. They greet you by name, remember your favorites and offer great conversation. The managers and floor staff are also efficient and cordial. Soft, live music is offered on select nights. This place is very cozy, especially on a cold winter night. The regulars will also often chat you up and make you feel like you're one of them. As a former staffer and regular at Boston's Bull & Finch Pub (now the "Cheers" bar) a way back, I can say that this place offers the same great ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very quaint place! The ambience is so nice, with its brick walls, and candlelight! Food is excellent and there is music on Saturday nights. Walking distance from downtown to the water front!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crzyrner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing