We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab!”
Review of Plum Island Grille

Plum Island Grille
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ab Fab!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Let me start by saying that we went to this restaurant about 5-6 years ago, and although the food was very good, it was very expensive. Since we got a gift card for Christmas we tried it again last night. When we walked in the door to the bar area (to the right) we were greeted by a lovely hostess who sat us right away and asked if she could take my coat. Looked over the menu, things have not changed it is VERY expensive for the area, but just as we were about to order the waitress (who was great BTW) told us that appetizers were 1/2 price from 5-6 p.m. It was 5:30. We ordered 4 appetizers which we really thought would be too much food, but they are small servings. Think 2 tiny crabcakes, 3 blackened scallops. Add larger servings of lobster ravioli garnished with spring salad and steamed clams with blue cheese and bacon. It was enough food. Spicy bread that they automatically serve is also delicious. This restaurant deserves accolades for fine management as well as really cool vibe and service. The chef (possibly the owner) made an appearance a couple of times.
All in all, a fabulous dinner, wonderful management. We will be back!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    25
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,160 helpful votes
“Gourmet seafood for 15 years and counting”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We discovered the Plum Island Grille nearly 15 years ago, and return several times a year. The Grille is the first building you see on the right as you drive down the bridge ramp that spans the Parker River. The atmosphere is that of a cabana with big picture windows facing the Parker River marsh. The panoramic views and sunsets are spectacular. We have enjoyed the atmosphere in both sections of the restaurant; be aware that both sections may not be open, depending on the time of year and time of day.

The food is delicious and gourmet. The menu usually features at least three grilled varieties of fish, plus other culinary delights from Chef Francis’s repertoire. This time we split a smoked salmon appetizer and enjoyed the peppery cheesy bread while choosing our entrees. My wife ordered the lobster ravioli with oyster mushrooms. I opted for the swordfish with the three condiments—roasted tomato salsa, kalamatta olive tapenade, and the jalapeno tartar sauce. The ravioli were served with a smooth, silky, light cream sauce. The swordfish portion was huge, cooked through to perfection, yet moist and tender, served over a bed of homemade rice pilaf and wilted spinach. We shared Mimosas with the appetizer, which were mostly champagne flavored with just a bit of orange juice. My wife found excellent choices on the wine list and was extremely happy with the buttery Chardonnay which complimented the fresh lobster ravioli.

Our server, was quite friendly and told us how much he liked working at the Grille and what a great person Chef Francis was to work with. We always have great meals at restaurants where you can return year after year and see the same wait staff. We recognized our server from a previous visit.

We did not leave room enough for the Mexican brownie, chocolate torte, key lime pie, or any other dessert. When we have had dessert here in the past, we have favored the Mexican brownie—a monster brownie, with a twist of hot peppers, and topped with a scoop of cinnamon ice cream.

This is the perfect spot for people who love delicious gourmet food. Once we dined here with families with children, and the parents found the menu challenging for their children. There are many other restaurants in the area that are small child oriented, and we would suggest parents with small children look elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank StarWeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warmth on a cold winter's night”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrive here on an autumn evening at just the right time, and you can stand on the front porch to catch a brilliant sunset over the marsh. Arrive here on a winter evening at just the right time - before 7 pm - and you can catch half-price appetizers. We found that out the Friday between Christmas and New Year's when we decided to drive out to the Grille for a drink and an early dinner. A half-dozen warm oysters for $8? Lobster ravioli for $6? What a treat! But this is one of our favorites spots, and to us the fine-quality cuisine, excellent beverages, warm service, colorful decor, and general bonhomie always make it an excellent value. Seafood is the showcase, and I almost always default to the scallops with three sauces, so it was fun this time to try something different. And we got a parking spot right out front, which won't happen in the summertime!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Out of the way gem”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a small out of the way gem on the Pum Island Parkway. Wonderful food, great service and some of the best New England sunsets around. Decor is funky, and one of my favorite resturants anywhere. I am now living on the opposite coast but next time I am in Mass, this place will be visited just because...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The menu was tantalizing and the meals were beautifully presented and delicious. A must do if in that area!

Helpful?
1 Thank SRR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum Island Grille also viewed

 

Been to Plum Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing