We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Beachcoma

Beachcoma
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Newbury
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
Description: PI Beachcoma Restaurant and BarLocated on Plum Island Massachusetts, the PI Beachcoma is owned and operated by the Pugh family.After a 7 year hiatus, we reopened the "Coma" in July 2011. Welcome back Islanders and visitors alike and enjoy the Beachcoma's casual setting with a family friendly menu. The Beachcomber was been around since the 50's and now this "institution" has been reborn.
Restaurant details
Description: PI Beachcoma Restaurant and BarLocated on Plum Island Massachusetts, the PI Beachcoma is owned and operated by the Pugh family.After a 7 year hiatus, we reopened the "Coma" in July 2011. Welcome back Islanders and visitors alike and enjoy the Beachcoma's casual setting with a family friendly menu. The Beachcomber was been around since the 50's and now this "institution" has been reborn.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I ordered a roast beef specialty sandwich which I thought was going to be a hot sandwich with melted boursin cheese. The sandwich that came was ice cold, the cheese was a lump atop of the well overdone, grey roast beef.... and all the for $10. Maybe just a bad day, don't know!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, MA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We try to go here once in a while!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband try to go here at least once a month.
They don't have a very big menu, however, whenever possible we try to get the specials...which are excellent!!
They also have pretty good drinks!!
Whenever we go here we don't have to break the bank as their prices are reasonable!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, charming, good food”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just the place for a casual leisurely lunch a few steps from the beach. Food is very good - it's not upmarket, but very acceptable - pitched just right - friendly staff and good service - fun place to visit - good coffee too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nollaigbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beachcoma Take II”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After having a couple awful meals last year we decided to give it one last try on our annual trip to Plum island. They have updated the menu but kept a number of items from the old one. Let me say I was shocked at how much better things were this time around. It was so much better we ended up visiting 3 times during our stay on the island. The waitstaff now knows the menu, is experienced, and was very attentive and friendly. The food wait times, quality, and freshness have all improved a great deal. My congrats to management for helping the 'coma rise to a different level.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We complained about the waitress to the manager (who was our waitress)”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

One of only two times I remember not leaving a tip - the service was that bad! We tried to complain to the manager about our waitress, imagine our shock when our waitress identified herself as the manager. Double charged for drinks, our appetizer never arrived, pickles were missing, no changing table in the restroom, and then she forgot to give our credit card back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank northshoremom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcoma also viewed

 

Been to Beachcoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing