We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wicked good lobstah”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bob Lobster

Bob Lobster
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wicked good lobstah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Simple, basic, real seafood at picnic tables in a shack, a lobster shack. One day we took lobster dinners to the beach to eat and they were still hot and delicious. One night we had 3lb lobsters and steamers just wonderful. Friendly attentive service from young locals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrRich54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Bland, rubbery, plastic lobster in awful cheap bread roll. Most of the seating is at benches in the car park which would be fine if the food was as good as it might be - suspect this place was once good and now continues to coast on a past reputation.Spend your cash somewhere else!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Applepie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great clam chowder and yummy lobster rolls. We sat outside after a beautiful day at the beach. It was great. I would go back. The place looks like a deli and you order at the counter and they bring the food out to you. There is also a small indoor seating area. It is like a fast food place that serves really good seafood. Very casual. Yummy lobster rolls.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We love bobs lobster for great fresh seafood and the best clam chowder we have ever had. Great prices as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Family Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family has been vacationing in Newburyport and Plum Island since before I could walk. I don't remember when Bob Lobster first opened but its been an annual stop every year since - I had the whole lobsters, the lobster rolls, fried clams, scallops - everything and its all been delicious. The sides are always perfect - portions always large, pricing fair and seafood amazingly fresh. Its great to sit outside and eat, I even like the idea that you can order from a far - I haven't tried it yet but its nice to know if we can't make our yearly pilgrimage we can order online!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athena15AlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Bob Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing