We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Inn on the Green
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2010

With the one exception of the food, which was very nice, the Old Inn on the Green was a huge disappointment for my wife and I.

The absolutely shockingly poor service from everyone we encountered made this trip unpleasant. For the price of the inn we expected excellent treatment. What we got was the following:
- A rude, seemingly disinterested waiter who never once even bothered to check up on us to see how we were doing.
- No one around in the morning for breakfast! We sat in the dining room for 15 minutes and had a muffin from the table while waiting for someone to come and give us coffee - nobody ever came.

Besides the food - there is nothing else remarkable about this place. The building is very old (which is probably the draw for a lot of people, but that means certain things don't work well (like the shower)). Despite being in the beautiful Berkshires, the property has no view to speak of whatsoever. There are also no 'grounds' at the Inn - not even a bench (besides on the front porch) to sit outside.

If you want to stay on the property, there are only 2 places you can be - in your room or at the restaurant (the entire first floor is a restaurant).

Overall - save your money (this place is not cheap!) and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamBoston82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    46
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
16
159
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I am writing this review to give some information on an exceptional B&B. I stayed here while Skiing with friends in the area. I see alot of complaints about terrible old rooms with wood panel bathrooms and loud noise. This was not my experience at all. I had an amazing room with standard High tech amenities, Huge Jacuzzi tub bathroom, IPOD dock, and fireplace. The rooms were extrmely quiet. There are two houses for the B&B the main house where the restaurant is and an additional house next door. STAY next door if you want a great room with no noise. That house is more pricey but you get what you pay for.

The owners are the nicest people, extremely friendly. The continental breakfast was amazing! Fresh pressed coffee made for you to order with fresh jams and homemade pastrys. In the evening we had the tasting menu and it was AMAZING! I have eaten in many of the top restaurants of the world and this is on my list as one of my favorites. The waiter and sommolier were so friendly and knowledgable. They even sent us out extra courses that weren't on the menu. We were the last couple in the restaurant and after our dinner walked a few feet away outside to our room. That was one of my favorite weekends and I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGreen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have stayed at the Old Inn on the Green twice, once in winter and this October. It is a great place for a one or two day get-away. The food is terrific, the setting is beautiful, and the atmosphere is relaxed like the owners, Peter and Meredith.
The Old Inn is, well, old. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and unique but they may not meet some people's expectations given the price. For us, the fact that the Inn is old is part of the charm.
We hope to return many times.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Old Inn on the Green is a gem. Peter and Meredith run a top notch establishment, besides being the kindest and nicest of innkeepers.
The food is out of this world, breakfast the best pastries you have ever had.
This inn has become a yearly pilgrimage for us. Their store in Southfield, one mile away
,has the best sandwiches and soups.

Paris Quartet

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisQuartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The name of this in is "Old Inn on the Green," with the operative word here being "old." When we first walked up to the entrance we did a double take, wondering if we hadn't come to the wrong place. The exterior needs work- a paint job, mowing- cause it looks a bit run down. The room we stayed in in the main house was roomy, clean and charming although I was taken a back a bit by the all wood paneling shower. Once again, a little updating in order here. Also keep in mind that if you get one of the rooms above the restaurant (as we did- first one at the top of the stairs) and it's a busy, lively night, it may be bothersome.

That said, the service was good, the staff was very friendly and the meal at the inn's renowned restaurant was exceptional. Although the room wasn't necessarily our style, the Sunday-Tuesday "all inclusive" package special is worth taking advantage of. Also, I hear the more expensive rooms in the other building are nicer- no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Our room was clean no complaints there. This was not a special room to hang out in, but we enjoyed stepping back in time with the wide plank floors and walls that typifies a building from the mid 18th century. On arrival we were greeted by the owner Peter who was most inviting in a sincere fashion. We asked if we could have a cheese and bread platter made up to tide us over to dinner. That request was met with an immediate no problem. A very nice selection of artisan cheese and bread was duly brought out to us. On to the restaurant - this truly is a one of a kind set up -entirely natural candlelight including chandeliers lit by real candles. The staff were extremely professional but most of all not at all snooty or pretentious. The ambience was a step back to the mid 18th century like the room! The wine list is large, lots of high end wines but we found something quaffable and decent for $24. I have eaten well in Burgundy and the cuisine here stands up alongside the best I have tasted in that region of France. Superb presentation. The reductions were excellent. The portion sizes were sufficient for us to feel satisfied. Our lodging included a continental breakfast but this was not your typical set up. The jams were imported from Austria. The coffee came out in its own brewer and was high end stuff. The croissants and pastries were all fresh out of the oven and THE best we have had outside of France. I ordered scrambled eggs and smoked bacon and this was just excellent.
In conclusion the history of the Inn, the ambience, the casual unpretencious owner and staff, and the gourmet cuisine totally overwhelmed a small list of items which need attention. I have emailed the owner this list as perhaps no one took the time to mention these so far. I cannot wait to get back to the Old Inn to again pretend it is the 18th century and enjoy something else off the exciting menu.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vineman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrentham,ma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Old Inn on The Green. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, I was concerned about my decision to stay at the Inn. My concerns were unfounded!

The Inn was delightful! Our room, room 201, was delightful,the bed very comfortable, great leather reading chairs, fireplace,etc.
Dinner - we had the "tasting dinner" - was absolutely fantastic!The service was impeccable and the food superb!

Our stay was terrific and so unlike the visits mentioned in the other reviews - made me wonder if I was at the same place!

Do give this place a try!

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bostongalWrentham_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
11.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
13.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
450 reviews
12.6 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
502 reviews
9.5 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Property: The Old Inn on the Green
Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230-2159
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing