We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm inn, chilly outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Inn on the Green
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm inn, chilly outside”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the inn, enjoying the prix fix menu and the candlelight dining. We liked the ambience and our room was comfortable and quiet (195 in the main house). We will return! Friendly owners who went out of their way to help us find cross country ski trails.

Room Tip: 195 was fine for a family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdgNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    44
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
16
156
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and i decided to take a 2 day getaway from the city and had heard about The Old Inn on The Green from friends. Unfortunately we left on the day of a major winter storm and what would have been a 2 1/2 hour drive turned into a 5 hour trek. We kept calling the Inn and spoke to one of the owners Peter to inform him that we were running late and that we probably would not be there for our 3pm check in time. As we drove on through the blizzard we kept touching base with Peter to keep him updated. It got to a point where we decided it was unsafe to continue to drive and decided to see if we could change our arrival date to the next afternoon. Peter informed us that was okay but what i didn't expect was that when i said to him i guess we will have to pay for the night missed he graciously said, "No worries, things are a bit slow and these things happen."
This is why i love a family run business. Most folks would have charged for the night. He was a class act!

Upon arrival the next day we were blown away by the absolute charm and coziness of every inch of this place. We stayed off the main house in room 202 and you just felt like you were walking back into time. Thank God this historic place fell into the hands of people that respect its history. Right off of our room was a cozy little shared living room area that was so lovely to sit and read in. Our room had a fireplace which added to the coziness and don't worry you don't have to use an out house. Their bathrooms were modernized tastefully and there was even a jacuzzi bathtub.

Ok so great accommodations what could get any better? THE FOOD!!! Peter is also the chef and it was a meal fit for royalty. The dinning room is also lit solely with candlelight which was a beautiful touch. If you like great wine and single malt scotch they had a great selection of both as well as other fine spirits. The two days was simply a joy. The staff was very helpful and sweet and Meredith, Peter's wife also was kind enough to show us around and discuss the history of the inn.
If you are someone looking for a romantic, cozy, getaway don't hesitate. Book your stay! Thanks Peter and Meredith for a fantastic couple of days. We will be back.

Luke & Amber

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Like many other reviewers, we also used the Travelzoo voucher for our stay at the Old Inn. Now, if you're expecting a lavishly decorated room, ala the Four Season's or The Ritz, then this is not the place for you. But if you're interested in history and the way things were back in the 1700s, then you'll enjoy this charming inn. Sitting in the dining room, I almost expected George Washington and some of his troops to walk right through the door seeking a warm bed and some hearty food.

Our room (#203 in the Thayer House) was very spacious with a real wood fireplace and a jacuzzi. We put both to good use. The bed was comfy with the right amount of firmness (my back didn't complain). Yes, the floors creak, and yes, the doors are old with their lift-up latches, but those things add to the charm! We found the room very cozy (it's not too often that you get the opportunity to go to bed with a fireplace raging just a few feet away).

Regarding the food: this is where it really comes together. This is what made that Travelzoo deal a real bargain. Let me just say that Peter has "done his homework"! The food is outstanding! From the basket of homemade bread with its ceramic pot of delicious butter, to the entrees, the cocktails, and the desserts…. everything was top notch! A wonderful dining experience! We also enjoyed the two free breakfasts that came with the voucher. A French press pot of fresh coffee, fresh squeezed OJ or grapefruit juice, plenty of fresh fruit to accompany a bowl of homemade granola, and the topper; a warm basket of homemade breakfast sweets that tasted like they just came out of a French patisserie. We lingered at our table savoring each moment.

I highly recommend the Old Inn with its charm and wonderful food. The only thing that I would complain about, and it's minor, is the free wi-fi, which didn't seem to have a strong enough signal to reach our room. Other than that, it's two thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gymrat375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, ct
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I read with interest a number of other reviews after we had planned a quick two day getaway to the Old Inn and decided to just go and see what developed. In short, we had a GREAT time. The Inn dates back to the 1700's and retains all of the character that such a place should have. Wide Plank wood floors, quirky stair cases, squeaky floors and doors and it's not soundproof. All the things that you should be aware of and willing to understand when visiting such a place. We stayed in Room 205 in Thayer House. It was exactly as described. Very comfortable bed, very comfortable leather chairs to relax in, a TV if you must have such a thing, with a wide variety of satellite channels, a very spacious bathroom with a claw foot tub and large shower with great pressure (always a risk at an older inn). We did have a Travelzoo voucher and thus had dinner at the inn our first night, but the food was so good, we decided to eat there again the second night so as to not have to worry about having too much wine and driving unfamiliar dark country roads. (However, had the food not been worth a second night, we would gladly have ventured out but we did not need to). The service was wonderful, Hope, our first night's server was a pleasure and without prompting, asked if I wanted the wine I had brought along decanted as it was older and likely would have some sediment. (A corking fee of $30 not out of line for the quality of the wine I had brought along, however, for night #2 we chose from their very representative list). Our second night's server, whose name sadly I didn't get, was equally wonderful and did a great job choosing the third of our three cheeses to start (my wife and I agreed on the first two and could not decide on a third so we left it to her). Peter, one of the innkeepers and the chef, does a wonderful job in both flavor and presentation and there is enough variety on the menu to keep all tastes happy.

As part of our voucher we had lunch the second afternoon, at The Southfield Store. My wife and I both started with their delicious soups, then had two very large and equally tasty sandwiches, and took our desert back to enjoy that evening as we were too full to have any more. The Southfield Store, only 2 miles away, was a very comfortable place to relax, have lunch, and spend some time just enjoying the local scene.

Breakfast both days was equallygood. Juice and simply wonderful coffee (served in a french press) starts it off, with a basket of hot pastries (scones, croissant, muffins etc) great butter brought to the table. Then, back in the bar area there is a buffet set up with spectacular granola, yogurt, milk, a great selection of fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs and some other items. I read in other reviews that you could ask for other fresh made egg dishes, but honestly, what was there was more than tasty and again seemed to be something for "everyone". I could not imagine needing more.

Peter and Meredith the other innkeeper, were both pleasant and polite and very helpful. Max, who showed us to our room the first night was also very helpful and very nice.

Be warned though...there is NO cell service at all, so if that is a MUST then The Old Inn on the Green is the wrong place for you, but if you are going to just relax and get away it is a wonderful stop. (Even the WiFi, which they do have, can be spotty, but the WiFi at the Southfield Store is screaming fast).

Thanks to all for a very nice getaway

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctKfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

"I'm okay with your high prices, but you need to have some service to match the prices you charge." Peter is a host who is more interested in nickel and dime charges, rather than building a solid client base for future business. Yes,the food is good. But as the other reviewer said... Patronizing...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Deanboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our two day stay at The Old Inn on the Green was awesome. Our room had the charm of an old inn with it's wide plank floor was hand painted with a medallion and gently sloped as really old floors do. The shower stall was spacious (I dislike shower curtains that wrap around you while you shower. . The hosts were friendly and helpful, providing things to see and places to visit. Most noteworthy was the Norman Rockwell Museum. I would recommend the Inn if you are planning to visit the Berkshires.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_McGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I’ve been using this website for years and years, and have never written a review, but people should really know about my experience at the Old Inn.
The short story:
Peter, the owner and chef at the Old Inn, and (most of) his staff, don’t like hosting and accommodating wedding parties. I’m confused as to why he took a booking with our party, only to end up treating us in an extraordinarily rude manner.
The whole story:
We got married at the Gedney this past September. We originally booked the Mepal Manor for the rehearsal dinner, the spa, and about 6 rooms, but were informed about 3 months later that the Manor and the Spa were sold and would no longer be available for our use. Michael, Gedney’s general manager, suggested we move our dinner, hair and makeup preparations, and stay to the Old Inn On the Green. This is what most of the other stumped wedding parties were doing.
My husband had numerous conversations with Peter on the phone during the reservation process. He was always very nice and accommodating, and in the end, we booked 4 out of the 6 rooms in the Thayer house (the biggest ones), and a private room at the restaurant for a party of 35 people for our rehearsal dinner.
The rehearsal dinner was a mess. We made the big mistake of not preparing sitting arrangements, and by the time my husband, his parents (who were paying), my parents, my maid of honor, her husband, and I arrived we had no where to sit. The staff were very flustered and frustrated when they had to add more chairs to the tables because we didn’t inform them of the right number of guests (we failed to count the small children, and were 5 people off). In the mean time we were all standing in the middle of the room, and family members were starting to volunteer to give up their seats and leave.
After the dinner, we tried to make reservations for breakfast the next morning, and they refused to serve our guests who “weren’t staying at the Old Inn”. We were under the impression that it was a restaurant which is open to the public, but I guess our money was no good there.
The next day, we had arranged to get the bridal party’s hair and makeup done at the Thayer house. We set up in the common area because the makeup artist didn’t have enough light to work in the rooms. We were occupying most of the rooms in the house, (and all of the rooms on the bottom floor where we were), and at this point the other rooms were empty so we had the house to completely to ourselves. About half way through, Peter showed up and lashed out (!!!) at my mom for not asking permission to use the common area. I can’t even begin to explain how inappropriate it was for him to talk to my mom the way he did. It was only a few short hours before her daughter walks down the aisle, and she was beyond upset. Why distress the mother of the bride for no reason? Literally anybody else would have been a more appropriate person to talk to, especially when the only purpose of his comments seemed to be just to reprimand someone. Our coordinator from the Gendney was there when it happened. She mentioned that they’ve been getting a lot of complaints from other guests about the attitude they’ve been getting from the Old Inn.
In the end we ended up spending almost $10,000 at the Old Inn, and I couldn’t recommend it less. They even over charged our card, by about $400, and when we called to ask for an invoice, it took an email, 8 phone calls, two voicemails, and 2 phone conversations to talk to Peter. They finally noticed that it was in fact their mistake and we got some of the money back. Seriously, if you are getting married in the area, DO NOT spend your money here. They do not like big groups, and they are not hospitable to out of towners. They are also overpriced, patronizing, and just “not nice” in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Talimny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
11.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
992 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
411 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
9.7 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
448 reviews
12.5 mi away
Devonfield Inn
Devonfield Inn
#1 of 8 in Lee
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Property: The Old Inn on the Green
Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230-2159
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing