We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated elegance - classic New England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Inn on the Green
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Understated elegance - classic New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and 12 year old son surprised me by taking me here for my birthday. We live in the Berkshires but had never been to New Marlborough before other than to drive through.

We stayed in room 191, which had a larger four poster bed, a single brass bead, and a lovely sitting area with a couch. The room was perfect for our family of three. It was quaint and perfectly clean with some really pleasant modern touches like wonderful bath products and fluffy extra blankets.

My husband and I ate in the dining room. (We got take-out sushi for our son, who ate in the room and hung out - his bday present to me was the gift of a romantic dinner for his parents...) I am a true foodie and my husband is not, but he chose this place to bring me because he had read reviews of the restaurant online. It did not disappoint either of us!

We both ordered the tasting menu, and between the two of us were able to sample everything offered on the menu. Everything was amazing. We loved the slow, delightful pacing of the meal. We awaited each new course with eager anticipation. I actually got food-inspired goose bumps twice during this meal - at the beet tarte tatin, a starter, and at the polenta, a side with the rack of lamb. I am not kidding. I am sure the element of surprise played into my mood, but the food, the wine, the candlelit atmosphere... It was amazing. Don't even get me started on the breakfast...

In the morning as we drove away after checking out, my son said, "That was great; we will definitely go back there!" I am not sure if I will ever be lucky enough to go to The Old Inn on the Green again, but the memories of fine food, atmosphere, and company will linger for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    43
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
153
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found out about this very old Inn established in 1760 through Travel Zoo and purchased a wonderful 2 nit stay including one dinner, one lunch and continental breakfast, Beautiful room and updated bathrooms. Nice hikes around the Inn and a great general store about a mile and a half from the Inn where we had our free lunch and had great conversation w / the best pastry chef around. The store is also owned by the Inn and served his wonderful pastries every morning. The owner of the Inn, Peter is also the chef at dinner time which is served in the main house under candle lite and was also amazing. The only complaint I had was that our room was 100 degrees and we couldn't lower the temperature so we kept the windows open the whole time. Very charming and very centrally located to Great Barrington and Stockbridge where you'll find the Norman Rockwell Museum. The Museum was spectacular. We had a great time and would highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewsive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a mid-week 3 day getaway to celebrate our 23rd anniversary without having to travel too far from home. We could not have had a more wonderful experience! We stayed in room 201 in the Thayer House. Just wonderful! Though full of rustic, Old New England ambiance, the room was immaculate, not musty, and spacious! We loved having our own private entrance to our room as we were able to enjoy stargazing at midnight-- far from city lights! The pool was super clean and sparkling. The food was as good as it gets! We enjoyed our top-notch homemade brunches on the screen porch and in the candle-lit dining room. Dinner was outstanding with an extensive wine list. We enjoyed quiet strolls around the property, as well as adventures to Campbell Falls (gorgeous falls!), Great Barrington, and Stockbridge. Innkeepers truly know what they are doing! What a fantastic destination! We will return!

Room Tip: Loved room 201 with private entrance, jacuzzi, fireplace, excellent bed & linens, immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My fiancé and I heard about this inn from a Living Social deal that we purchased. We love going to the Berkshires for long weekend getaways. We bring our four-legged, fluffy daughter with us wherever we go and this inn has one room they allow dogs to stay in. We booked it immediately. We weren't sure what to expect seeing as it was a "deal", but we were very pleasantly surprised!

The room was beautiful and the Zagat rated restaurant at the inn was amazing. We ate dinner there one of the nights that we stayed and it was superb. One dish was better than the next. Wonderful. The presentation, flavors and service were perfect! We also loved that the only light illuminating the restaurant was candlelight, as this is an 1800's home. It added to the cozy ambiance and pleasant experience.

The room that we stayed in was very clean, spacious and the bed was comfy. Plenty of clean, fluffy towels were offered. When walking in, the building is very inviting with fireplaces, movies, magazines, etc. There is also an in-ground pool on the grounds for warmer weather. The grounds are well-maintained and beautiful.

We had continental breakfast that was included with our stay. Fresh fruit, local boiled eggs, locally made granola, yogurt, etc. were offered and very nice, but the freshly baked goodies that were delivered to each table were amazing. They looked and tasted as though they were photographs in a magazine. Impressive.

We also visited the deli down the street that is owned by the innkeepers and we enjoyed a tasty sandwich served by friendly people.

We will certainly be returning. Highly recommended! : )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitchenfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Granted, we were expecting a lot. But the tasting menu had just one remarkable dish (flat iron steak) and 7-8 so-so dishes. The halibut was dry. The duck was dry. The place is quite beautiful - candle-lite, colonial decor - truly beautiful. The waiter was not up to par for such an upscale restaurant. Maybe it was an off night. Regardless we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBrahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

When I pulled up in front of the Inn I was not quite sure I had made a great choice. Then I stepped inside and fell in love with everything about it. Old...yes! Charming? YES! Our room was in the Old Inn, upstairs. It was an amazing room, beautifully redone and extremely spacious. We dined by candlelight and the food was outstanding. The wait staff could not have been more pleasant and everyone worked extremely hard at making your visit everything you wanted it to be. The breakfast was homemade granola, yogurt, berries, cherries, every kind of fresh fruit you could ask for, fresh squeezed juice, followed by the yummiest basket of baked goods. Soooo good! The deal we purchased included lunch at Southfield Store. DO NOT SKIP LUNCH! I thought, how good could it be? It's free, let's try it.....sooo good! Great sandwiches and desserts--esp the tiramisu. So good we went back at dinner. Thursday night was Mexican night. Very good once again. Yes, it's in the middle of nowhere, but treat yourself. Kick back and relax in the Berkshires and come hungry! Thanks to the innkeepers and staff for a wonderful experience! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

It's pretty. It's very old. Bed was very comfortable, the room was small, the front porch was a blessing. The food is great for dinner and breakfast. If you want to be in the middle of nowhere in a pretty place with great food, this is your ticket. Otherwise, you will be driving around a good bit. It is 20 minutes or so south of Great Barrington, which is the southernmost town in the chain of old towns/little cities in the Berkshires.
There are local events you can time your visit to meet. As we were leaving, an art festival was setting up next door.
We had a blast, but drove twice as much as we did on previous Berkshire vacations.

Room Tip: the rooms that have the balcony are small. If you are apt to sit outside, it is wonderful to have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
11.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
14.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
16.3 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
11.7 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Property: The Old Inn on the Green
Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230-2159
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing