We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Inn on the Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary by visiting the Berkshires for two nights and staying at this old and charming Inn. Meredith and Peter were very welcoming Innkeepers and the Inn itself has kept all the charm of something built in the 1800's but modernized enough for the comforts of today. We stayed in a beautiful room in the Thayer house with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. I would recommend the Inn to anyone who is going to visit this quiet corner of the state. The food in the restaurant at the Inn was exceptional. Some of the best we have eaten! If you stay at the Inn, don't miss an opportunity to dine there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arubanancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for The Old Inn on the Green
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I are New Yorkers and recently enjoyed a weekend getaway at the Old Inn on the Green. We stayed at the Thayer House, in a lovely suite, with a wood burning fireplace and a large jacuzzi, along with 2 communal living rooms that where tastefully decorated. It is a warm and intimate home that was built in 1822. I felt as if I was in another world and I didn't want to leave. The owners, Peter and Meredith were lovely hosts and assisted us with recommendations of places to visit, directions, restaurants,etc. The restaurant at the inn is lovely and the food was elegantly presented and most of all delicious. I was surprised to see Peter wearing his chef coat , as I entered the restaurant for dinner, I had no idea he was a chef. He is a graduate of the Cordon Bleu in London and has cooked at the James Beard House in NYC. I was very impressed to say the least. The Old Inn on the Green made my first trip to the Berkshires memorable and relaxing. Thank you, Peter and Meredith , I hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITSALLABOUTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed our first anniversary at the Old Inn on the Green. We were very impressed with the entire stay. The Old Inn has a quiet, elegant feel which we enjoyed very much. The service was top notch. We did purchase a package off of Travelzoo, I don't know if full price would be in our budget for another visit though. The food was fantastic. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our weekend, even suggesting other nice restaurants to try when we wanted to explore the area. Their facility is kept very clean and comfortable. We definitely hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Old Inn on the Green has several things to recommend it to travelers—wonderful food, comfortable accommodations, and kind hosts. In the winter when the snow is on the ground, it also has easy snowshoeing in the meadows directly behind the Inn. The continental breakfast includes house-made granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a basket of fresh and wonderful baked goods. If you’re there mid-week, the restaurant offers a three course prix fix menu that is as good as it is a good value. Dinner is punctuated by two small bites; once before the meal and again during the meal, we received small plates with special chacuterie and other morsels. Both were delicious and delightful surprises. The wine list is extensive and can be enjoyed by all budgets. The accommodations are very comfortable and full of light, even in winter. Most rooms have fireplaces, and some have large jacuzi tubs and scented bath salts (nice after a day of snowshoeing). In the winter, rooms in the main Inn offer convenience to the dining rooms—no need to put on boots or coats when going to breakfast or dinner. But Thayer House offers communal living rooms with fireplaces. We enjoyed our stay at the Old Inn, and recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank translucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a wonderful blizzardy weekend at the Old Inn on the Green and loved it. The owners, Peter and Meredith, were very nice and accomodating. Our room in the Thayer House was lovely with a comfy bed and updated bath. All our meals were excellent. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with fresh fruit, homemade granola, still warm hardboiled eggs, french press coffee, and a big basket of homemade pastries. Lunch at the nearby Southfield Store was delicious. We had two dinners at the Inn and both food and service were great each night. I highly recommend the Old Inn on the Green!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've been coming to the Inn for many years and will probably not return. The last two times the food has been mediocre at best. Every time we let things slide and pass them off as "quaint" but now it just seems unnecessary. Why can't someone be welcoming (or at least present) when we arrive to check in? Does anyone even know that we are return guests? Why can't they put an urn of coffee out for early risers? It's almost 9 by the time the coffee is up and ready to serve. These are little things that should be part of an Inn's service, especially at the rates they charge. But mostly it is just no fun being somewhere where you don't feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rustic luxury awaits in this truly old inn dating to the 18th century. While it may be a bit creaky around the edges it is an idyllic escape into a serene part of the Bershires and with close proximity to all it has to offer. The dinning room is romantic and the restaurant lives up to its billing. Breakfast alone is worth the trip. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a working fireplace
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
11.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,038 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
302 reviews
13.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
151 reviews
12.6 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
512 reviews
9.5 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230-2159
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Price Range: $330 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing