We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape from civilization” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Inn on the Green
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
698 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Escape from civilization”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfect retreat for someone who needs a quiet/peaceful escape. You will not believe the quiet you will encounter when staying here. That is if you can find it as GPS has problems and their is no cell service.
We stayed in a 1760 built Thayer house that takes you back in time. Downstairs their are several rooms for quiet reading and conversation. The owners are both chefs and most people eat at the restaurant which has a prix fix menu for $ 35.- each plus tax/tip. This gets you a 3 course meal that is carefully prepared, but somewhat small portions. The next morning they provide a continental breakfast that is full of locally grown fruit and pastries made by their catering operation locally. Their is a walking trail off of the dirt road that starts on the side of the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
152
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a couple of days stay at the Old Inn. From the moment you get there, seemingly in the middle of nowhere, the pace slows down and you experience that most fleeting of feelings: peace and relaxation. Check in was a casual affair, and the rooms are just beautful, a lovely mixture of luxury and rustic. I asked for a room with a claw footed tub and didn't want to get out of it! I LOVED the bath salts, soaps, etc. Linens, towels and such felt plush. The pool is great, it feels like a natural feature with grass growing right up to the edge - I loved that there was not one sign up with a list of don'ts.
Now the food - we had breakfast and dinner there and then had a voucher for lunch at the Southfield Store down the road. I cannot improve on what's been written before, except to say that it's the highlight of the stay. I wanted to hug the chef after dinner but he escaped that fate since I was too stuffed to move. Watching chipmunks and birds chase each other around while eating your breakfast was nice, and Chapman the dog wondered around greeting everyone.
There is plenty to do here: we wondered around Great Barrington, went for a hike to Bash Bish Falls, went bowling, went to dinner at the breweryt, etc. The coffee they use is SO tasty and we stopped by Great Barrington Coffee Roastery (or something like it) at Lee to pick up a pound of French Roast on the way out.
I can't wait to come back, I'd love to check this place out in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I were seeking an escape from the urbanization, standardization, banality and ennui of the 21st Century. We found it at The Old Inn in New Marlboro. Large, spare but comfortable rooms, each individually furnished with antique decorations: an old blanket chest, an authentic 19th Century print or newspaper illustration, all preserving the authentic character of the 1760 main building. The indoor dining rooms are lighted entirely by candlelight--and fireplaces in the winter. The food is the best I've ever had in the Berkshires, comparable to our favorite places in France and Belgium. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank de-la-f0lle-chans0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you love wonderfully preserved 18th century architecture, this old inn will be perfect for you.

Rooms are perfectly conceived and modern finishes complement the nearly pristine structure. Rooms have fireplaces, beautiful linens and the inn serves the best meals in the southern Berkshires.

This is a restful getaway for a weekend or more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilgrimsJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The service is impeccable but not haughty, the food is inspired but not precious, the surroundings are historic but not shabby. This is simply one of the best restaurants at which I have dined. The food is familiar but done so well that it becomes more that expected. I have dined here in the glow of candles with a fire in the fireplace in winter and dined on the porch in the summer- anytime is a great time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdcCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife picked this gem as a fun overnight close to where my daughter went to camp. She bought a package of dinner, room and breakfast. Of course you will be temped to upgrade when you see the menu and wine list. As for me, I stayed on the included menu and enjoyed the pan fried trout. My wife generously let me sample her delicious carrot soup. We stayed in a nice room above the restaurant (192) that had was very nice. Here is where I will complain though...the shower was not a pleasure with very low pressure and fluctuating temperature. Combine that with soap and shampoo that smell just like Vicks! With the soft - low flow water, I thought I'd die of old age trying to get the smelly soap off of me! The bed was comfortable and the porch (shared outside the room) was very nice. Closing out the stay was the buffet continental breakfast was the nicest I've ever had complete with lots of fresh fruit and fresh pastries that were terrific! By the way, the tripadvisor map has the location shown incorrectly, just refer to google maps and you will be fine.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sl2741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went to the Old Inn on the Green on a special promotion. I had never been to the Berkshires so this was a great way to experience the area. The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. We had a working fireplace in the room and a large jacuzzi tub with shower in the spacious bathroom. The pool was located a few steps from our room. The owners were very warm and accommodating. We had dinner at the INN on Sunday night. The food was fantastic. The cake with strawberries and gelato was wonderfully unique!! Breakfast is on the enclosed patio in the back of the INN overlooking a green lawn, flowers and birds at the feeder. Pressed coffee and a basket of warm muffins and pastries are brought to you when you sit down. The morning buffett included fresh fruit, warm hard boiled eggs, homemade granola, and yogurt, orange juice and tea and more. We had lunch at the Southfield Store and Cafe, which is owned by the Old Inn on the Green, Inn Keepers. I loved this store. Great latte and pastries and a nice outdoor area to sit and enjoy the flowers and trees. We ordered roast beef on baguette, mini blueberry pie(mmm) and tea for our journey home. The Inn is a short drive to Great Barrington, Stockbridge and Lenox. We had a very relaxing visit and I would go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thayer House room 201. There is a small patio and back door to the parking area whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noraboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
8.9 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
12.6 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Property: The Old Inn on the Green
Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230-2159
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing